Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apple Time Machine on Synology NAS

newbie1
Hooked

Apple Time Machine on Synology NAS

Hi,

Since I changed from broadband to fibre with plusnet I am getting very intermittent connection to my apple time machine backup for my MBP. I can see the admin page on the synology NAS and can connect via the finder to see the files via afp://servername.local as the NAS suggests I get an intermittent connection. I have tried to turn Bonjour broadcast on and off and it makes no difference? Any ideas. Just to let you know I have no coding experience but can use terminal with the appropriate suggestions and can adjust settings on my router.

Thanks,

19 REPLIES 19
markhawkin
Pro
Fixes: 11

Re: Apple Time Machine on Synology NAS

@newbie1

On the face of it, this seems to suggest that the router you got from Plusnet (I guess the Hub One) works less well with the Apple time machine and your NAS than the previous router.

Can you use your previous router "behind" the Plusnet Hub One ?

I would also look for any firmware updates for the NAS and try time machine connected by cable rather than wireless.

I've found time machine can be a bit hit and miss and occasionally needs to be reset with my WD MyCoud. It is generally OK but has its moments. newer firmware on the WD seemed to improve matters.

I am the satisfied customer....
markhawkin
Pro

One other suggestion, try making the 5GHz WiFi network SSID different to that for the 2.4GHz.

I've found various WiFi devices get upset by both networks having the same name.

You can change this in the advance settings.

Well covered in the following thread.

https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Making-5-GHz-have-separate-SSID-with-the-Hub-One/td-p/134955...

newbie1
Hooked

Thank you for the advice.