cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

services havent been connected!

jowalker45
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎20-03-2023

services havent been connected!

My broadband was due to go live today. my previous supplier has ceased services this morning at 00:01 but plus net have failed to connect the broadband. I am an NHS medic that works from home online triage and I have no internet to complete my work!!! cant speak to anyone as phone line not connected either? where do i complain to? may as well cancel not a good start....

14 REPLIES 14
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,307
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: services havent been connected!

@jowalker45 Welcome to the forums. If your previous ISP service has been disconnected, then providing you didn't tell them you were moving, but left it for Plusnet to manage, this would indicate that the switchover is scheduled for today.

Change of ISP involves a little more than 'throwing a switch' , and can take up to 23.59 of you change-over day.

John
jowalker45
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎20-03-2023

Re: services havent been connected!

Plusnet dealt with the whole switch over the important part was I made it clear I could not go with out internet service due to my Job. imagine a relative needing to speak to a medical advisor and being unable to due to lack of communication with internet providers switch on one connection before the other was ready to go health services are struggling as it is with out issues with internet services,

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,307
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: services havent been connected!

I am sorry - unfortunately, that is, and always has been the way switching ISPs is done - it requires work on the BT/Openreach network ( and the Gaining Providers systems) which can only be done in stages.

John
Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 589
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: services havent been connected!

@jowalker45 

Do you work using a WiFi enabled device?

Is using your mobile phone, (assuming that you have one), as a WiFi hotspot a viable option just for today?

 

 

jowalker45
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎20-03-2023

Re: services havent been connected!

I do have a mobile but am unable to use it as hotspot for security purposes, i work for the NHS so cant use it, this was pointed out when I signed up with plusnet from talk talk that i couldnt have a gap between the switch over.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,563
Thanks: 6,652
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: services havent been connected!


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Broadband to My Order

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,307
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: services havent been connected!

@jowalker45 As I have said previously, ANY change of ISP is subject to a period of downtime - this should have been explained to you.

John
Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 589
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: services havent been connected!

@jowalker45 

OK, I wasn't aware that some organisations consider mobile WiFi to be a security risk?

I used to work for BT, out in the field, and regularly had to connect to BT internal systems using this method. Our laptops had software that created a secure end-to-end "tunnel".

I'm assuming that you are using a NHS supplied laptop, (or other device), and not your own personal computer?

 

 

Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 589
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: services havent been connected!

@jowalker45 

JOOI, I'm assuming that you are an official NHS home worker?

What is the NHS policy/plan if your home broadband was still with TalkTalk, but went faulty - it could be down for a few days.

Don't they have backup plans for that scenario?

 

 

jowalker45
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎20-03-2023

Re: services havent been connected!

Yes We do have a back up plan Ive had to ring in to have my shift covered, I normally work in clinic so home working is only done when we are not able to get in to  carry out our F2F appts due to covid, we try to cover all possible events but sadly some of these are out of our control 

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,307
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: services havent been connected!

So, you are working from home due to being ill?

John
jowalker45
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎20-03-2023

Re: services havent been connected!

I am not no, but house hold member is, 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,307
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: services havent been connected!

OK.

John
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,210
Thanks: 9,725
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: services havent been connected!


@jowalker45 wrote:

I do have a mobile but am unable to use it as hotspot for security purposes, i work for the NHS so cant use it


Really?

How is the security of connecting your (NHS secure) device to your mobile phone's WiFi hotspot any difference to connecting it to your internet's WiFi hot spot. Unless you have a NHS P3 secure network connection to your house the security considerations here are identical.

As ever, someone in NHS IT does not know what they are talking about here.  In this scenario, the end to end security layer is provided within the NHS laptop through to the NHS core IT systems.  How the device connects to the intervening telecommunications network is totally irrelevant.

For the record I have delivered IT services to the NHS and found their useful IT knowledge very limited - they so fear what they do not understand!

 

As for your migration, unfortunately there are more than a few things which can go worng when escaping LLU providers such as Talk Talk and Sky.  BT Openreach need to do a host of additional work to restore circuits "stolen" from BT - sometimes it goes wrong and the old service gets terminated before the new service is sorted ... there again it could simply be a matter of an hour or two break whilst the essential physical change over work is completed.

Do you have dial tone?  A telephone handset is an essential asset.

Broadband is not going to work well if the "phone" line is not working properly.

Please perform a quiet line test - dial 17070 select option 2 using a phone plugged into the test socket behind the face plate of the master socket (ideally this should be a corded phone). The line should be silent. A noisy phone line (or no dial tone) will have a marked adverse impact on the performance of broadband.

If the line is noisy or there is no dial tone, then a PHONE LINE fault needs to be raised with your phone provider. If this is PlusNet, you can report a fault on line using the button below. NB: You need to put your LANDLINE NUMBER after "PHONE" [missing instruction].


If you have dial tone and the right phone number, try plugging in the router.

Check you router lights

Your router lights can tell you a great deal about what is happening when things are not as they should be. The colour of the lights and their state will tell you all you need to know ... if only you could find the help sheet which came with the router. That information can also be found in the depths of the on-line help & support guides. The following links make the material easier to find.

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.