cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

FIXED
houseyork1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2021

Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

I am scheduled to change from ADSL to Fibre today.

I paid for the Fiber modem as part of the switch package but it has not yet been received.

Should I have received it by now or does the engineer drop it though the door when he visits the box?

11 REPLIES 11
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,177
Thanks: 3,878
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

@houseyork1 You should have it by now - it is sent First Class post from a central store. Hopefully one of the Help Team will pick this up and investigate.

Unfortunately, Royal Mail is still experiencing delivery problems,so some post is taking a while.

John
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

It should arrive in the post in a box that fits though a standard letterbox.

 

Have you checked your account to see whether Plusnet have shipped it ?

 

If you login to the Plusnet Member Centre and then navigate to Account Summary

then select the link for "View order status" on the row associated with "Plusnet Hub"

you can see whether it says "Your hardware has been dispatched" or something else.

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,617
Thanks: 4,324
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

@houseyork1 

The hubs are sent out a few days before you are due to go live. This is an automated process that can fail. It is also not unknown for Openreach to change a date and for this not to get passed on to the customer. Either could be the cause of your problem.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

houseyork1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2021

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

Oh dear I hope you are wrong. I've booked a day off work to cover the outage.

houseyork1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2021

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

Thankyou I'd have never found that page on my own.

The status today (26th Nov 2021) includes:

Hardware dispatch pending

The order is awaiting processing

But I have an email that say...

"This will change over on 26th November 2021 and your new cost per month will be"

 

So it looks like their automation of sending our the h/w before the change over date has gone wrong.

Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

What modem are you currently using on ADSL ?,

and have you checked whether it is capable of working with fibre ? - as many relatively recent devices can do both.

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
houseyork1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2021

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

My existing modem might be capable but configuration information was thin on the ground so we thought we'd play safe by paying the small amount for the PlusNet router.

We have a TP-LINK VR900.

Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

That modem/router is fibre capable so should automatically switch over from ADSL to VDSL when your line gets upgraded.

 

If it were me, I would choose to use your existing modem/router, and keep the Plusnet hub as a backup if you were ever to have issues.

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?


@houseyork1 wrote:

My existing modem might be capable but configuration information was thin on the ground

We have a TP-LINK VR900.


 

The configuration handbook is here - https://static.tp-link.com/1910012121_ArcherVR900(EU)(AU)_V3_UG.pdf 

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

For the Plusnet fibre settings, login to the MEMBER CENTRE.

 

The general fibre connection settings are found here -

How to connect to broadband using your own router 

in the section labelled  -  "What settings should I use for fibre broadband?"

Pay particular attention to the "VLAN ID" settings

 

Check your specific account login details here -  Connection Details 

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
houseyork1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2021

Re: Switching to Fiber: How and when is the modem supplied?

Fix

I phoned supported.

They told me we should not take any notice of the date give in the order confirmation as Outreach can overrule that date although there is nothing in the email to tells that the date could change.

He was able to tell us that we we are scheduled for change over next week and should now receive the new router on the day of the change over or the day after. But he also confirmed that our existing router should work - which we were not sure about.