cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Go live help!

Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-12-2020

Go live help!

Hi. I'm due to switch to fibre tomorrow. I need to know whether an engineer has to come into my home or is it all done at the green exchange box down the road?
10 REPLIES 10
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,460
Thanks: 1,852
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Go live help!

@Claire23 No engineer should need to visit your premises. I assume you have the correct router?

John
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-12-2020

Re: Go live help!

Not yet but then I've been at work all day so fingers crossed it's waiting for me! I'm switching to fibre, does that change whether an engineer comes in or not?
Ps, thank you so much for your reply
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,460
Thanks: 1,852
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Go live help!

Hope it is waiting for you, @Claire23 , unfortunately I have seen a number of people not getting their routers on time recently. Which one do you currently have?

The way fibre installs work these days means no engineer needs to come into your house - all the work is done at the exchange and local green cabinet.

John
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,598
Thanks: 4,433
Fixes: 1,130
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Go live help!


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Order

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-12-2020

Re: Go live help!

Currently with sky. 2 teenage boys and no internet as of tonight!!!
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,460
Thanks: 1,852
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Go live help!

So their router will be no use, and I assume you haven't seen the one from Plusnet yet? Very sorry, but there is little anyone other than PN staff can do about that - wish I could be of more help.

John
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 178
Thanks: 65
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-10-2014

Re: Go live help!

@Claire23 

Hi Claire ... my sympathies but the post is disastrous, my small package by Royal Mail Tracked 48 cost £17 and took six days. As a practical step offered to someone in the same situation, there is a superb guide to using the BT HH6 on this forum, it's much better than the Hub One anyway. Quite a few on Gumtree as I write, prices £10 to £30 including one in Southampton for £20 still in the box, others all around the country. Just Google Gumtree HH6 for the list. Some on eBay too, if you can find one near you it's well worth the trip, keep the Hub One as a spare when/if it arrives. Good luck.

Edited to add: if you are on ADSL you shouldn't be disconnected until your line is switched at the cabinet and the change takes only a few minutes. The same can't be said of the Openreach engineers, who cannot always get through their job list on time. My changeover from ADSL to fibre was delayed 10 days but my BB service was always maintained.

 
 
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,460
Thanks: 1,852
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Go live help!

Good thinking, @Longliner . I should have thought of making that suggestion. Embarrassed

John
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-12-2020

Re: Go live help!

Thanks guys. Wishing I'd have just stayed with sky. I'm a technophobe & didn't realise it would be so much hassle
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,460
Thanks: 1,852
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Go live help!

@Claire23 'Two teenage boys' - you should have no problems getting the HH6 set up then.Smiley

John