cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Home Phone package change not processed

jimmer007
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎13-01-2022

Home Phone package change not processed

I removed unlimited calls on my home phone package on the 6th July.

However this still hasn't been processed on my account, which is now preventing me from renewing my broadband contract.

My broadband contract ends on 27th July, and I've been looking at upgrading to fttp which is now possible in my area, but it's a must I'm able to keep my existing landline number, so is this possible and how can I arrange this?

Can someone please help me with the above?
14 REPLIES 14
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,473
Thanks: 1,174
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

@jimmer007 

Who supplies FTTP - is it OpenReach of one of the Alternative networks?

 

If it's OR and you want to stay with PN, you need to port your number out to a VOIP provider (immediately after FTTP is installed - the numbered is quarentined for 30 days).

 

Brian

jimmer007
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎13-01-2022

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

Hi Brian

Thank you for your reply.

Yes openreach have installed full fibre across the whole of town.

That's encouraging that I'm able to keep my number, but a shame it will be another supplier.

Hopefully my order will be processed soon so I can start the process of getting fttp and then porting my number to a new supplier
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,473
Thanks: 1,174
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

@jimmer007 

There is a glitch in the PN systems which sometimes stops the order change from clearing on your account.

 

You can phone the PlusNet Customer Options Team on 0800 013 2632 to get things going - tell them about your account glitch. When ordering make sure your choose the option to keep your phone number.

 

While you can set your VOIP provider account up before the FTTP install do not start the port until the day after FTTP is up and running. A & A seem to offer good prices and have been known to successfully port PN numbers.

https://www.aa.net.uk/voice-and-mobile/voip-information/

 

Note VOIP doesn't work during power cuts and you may have to get an adapter for your phone.

 

Brian

jimmer007
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎13-01-2022

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

I've been informed that my change to my package won't be processed untill my next bill is due after 277th July?

This is when my contract ends and I wanted to upgrade my broadband to fttp before this date so I don't incur expensive costs due to being out of contract after this date.

Even though I've had a email saying this phone pacakage change came into effect on 7th July, yehy online account won't let me do anything now as the change still isn't processed.

Could someone from Plusnet please clear this change on my online account so I can then proceed with my upgrade to fttp?Huh

As I'm looking to keep my landline, which is the best wag to change to fttp and keep my number which will then be ported to a VoIP provider once fttp is up and running?

Do I need to do as a new order for this address using a different email address, or is there a way to do this change using my existing account?
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,473
Thanks: 1,174
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

@jimmer007 

Although you can't do it online I don't see why PN can't initiate the upgrade to FTTP manually if you phone COTS.

 

Brian

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,473
Thanks: 1,174
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

@jimmer007 

If you do it by phone, make sure you ask to ensure the  "Keep my Landline" option is ticked.

 

Brian

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 1,433
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

@bmc  As the OP is planning to upgrade to FTTP it is impossible to keep the Plusnet landline. The  "Keep my Landline" option only applies if you have a copper line phone service from a different supplier (such as BT). It stops the line being ceased when the FTTP order is actioned.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,654
Thanks: 6,668
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Home Phone package change not processed


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Home Phone to My Account / Billing

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
jimmer007
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎13-01-2022

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

Thank you for your replies.

How have other people managed to keep their number When changing to fttp then?

Looking online, should I set up a new account (not putting in my phone number) for my current address as this then gives me the option of keeping the current landline with the existing provider?

Then once fttp is I stalled, do I then ask to port phone number to VoIP such as a & a, which will then cease my fttc contract?

It's paramount I keep my existing number, but I wish to change to fttp.

so if anyone has any help or experience how to do the above that would be great
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,473
Thanks: 1,174
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

@jimmer007 

Some people have had success, some have failed.

 

If you go with A & A as your VOIP provider I believe you can set the account up in advance but you don't port the number until FTTP is installed an PN have confirmed completion. Then you initiate the port.

 

Have a look at the following two threads.

"Successfull FTTP upgrade and landline port out" on the My Order board.

"Switched to Full Fibre but unable to port landline number" on the My Account/Billing board.

 

Brian

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 1,433
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

@jimmer007  Your plan of setting up a new FTTP account for your address not related to your phone number is the safest way to ensure you don't lose the number. As the number is associated with the FTTC account it is still active when you request the port to the VOIP provider so there should be no problem porting it and that action will cancel the phone line and FTTC.

The new Ofcom porting directive which is supposed to allow ceased numbers to be ported looks as if it isn't working properly, so it's a bit risky. That's not good if you must keep the number.

If I wanted to keep my number when going to FTTP I would use the separate FTTP account method. A bit academic for me as I can't get FTTP and don't need to keep the number.😁

jimmer007
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎13-01-2022

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

Well I've taken the plunge and ordered Plusnet fttp as a "new" customer using a different email address and New Plusnet username, and only using my postcode when using the fibre checker.

 

When inputting my address, it detected a active fttc line at my address, and it asks what you would like to do with it. I selected keep landline with current provider (which is currently Plusnet), which once the fttp is active should enable me to keep my current landline number when porting to a voip provider.

 

I have a installation date of 27/07/23 for FTTP 300, so if all goes well I will request a number port to a voip provider after this has been activated which will then cease my current fttc, and leave fttp running, and me keep my existing landline.

 

All being well that is lol

 

 

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 1,433
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

@jimmer007 That's the way to do it.😁  Just a word of warning, although you have said you want to keep the landline the installers may not be aware of this and could disconnect the copper line before the FTTP is working.

There have been cases of the existing line getting cut and used to pull the fibre through and then discovering that the FTTP doesn't work. So no broadband for a while.😫 Not good.

jimmer0007
Newbie
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-07-2023

Re: Home Phone package change not processed

MY FTTP installation day was yesterday, and FTTP was installed as an additional line as I had set up an new account with Plusnet, leaving my existing FTTC broadband active for the time being, so I can now transfer my existing home phone number to a voip provider.

 

I've requested the number port this morning with Andrews & Arnold, and I've just had confirmation this has been accepted.

 

For those in a similar position of wanting to retain their existing home number but wish to upgrade or have FTTP installed into their property, here is the successful method I used.

 

1. You'll need to setup a new account on Plusnet (Done later). So don't login to your current account*

 

*If you login to your current Plusnet account and and select upgrade your existing account to FTTP you'll automatically lose your current number when the order is processed, so if you wish to eventually transfer your current number to a voip provider, please follow the instructions below.

 

2. When searching for what broadband you can get, please just put your postcode in. Do not put your phone number in here.

 

https://www.plus.net/broadband/

 

 

3 . This will bring up what packages are available for your postcode, so please then select desired speed package.

 

Screenshot 2023-07-28 at 12.03.28.png

 

4. You will then get a message from Plusnet saying there's an working phone line at your address, what would you like to do with it.

 

If you wish to keep your existing number for transfer later, please select need my existing phone line with my current provider.

 

Screenshot 2023-07-28 at 12.06.33.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. This is where you'll setup your new Plusnet account by filling in your details, creating a new username login and password, and use a different email address to your existing login, and then select your desired Openreach engineer installation date.

 

I selected a morning appointment (8am-1pm) but the engineer didn't get to me until 1.30pm, so probably best to allow all day, as full fibre installs can take 2-4 hours in some cases, and it all depends on the engineers other appointments before you.

 

Screenshot 2023-07-28 at 12.07.49.png

 

Once everything is filled in review your order and submit, you should then receive confirmation emails of your order, and a separate email confirming your selected engineer appointment is available

 

7. Installation day the engineer will arrive to your property to do the fibre install, which took around 3 hours for mine as it was a new install.

 

If you have selected existing line your current FTTC connection shouldn't be affected, but ensure with the engineer this is the case as you wish to transfer your existing phone number later.

 

An active FTTC connection is vital to be able to transfer your existing number once the FTTP install has been completed.

 

8. Once the FTTP install is complete you can enjoy super fast fibre broadband.

 

9. Only once the FTTP broadband is confirmed it's up and running, you can then request to port your existing FTTC number to a voip provider.

 

I used Andrews & Arnold, which costs £15 to port an existing number, and then £1.44 a month line rental

 

It's vital that the port request is done after the FTTP install, otherwise it probably won't work.

 

Put all your details in, number you wish to port, and some details from your existing  FTTC Plusnet contract you wish to port and cease and request the port. I have a port date of a weeks time

 

Once the number port is accepted this will eventually cease the existing additional FTTC contract after the port is complete

 

10. Current phones

 

If you have the old style analogue phones which connect to the phone line, you can replace to VOIP phones but these can be quite costly.

 

You can however use a ATA adapter (which I've ordered), one end goes to your router via ethernet cable, and then there's space for your existing phone line via an adaptor to be plugged in.

 

I order an Grandstream Networks HT802 VoIP Telephone Adapter, which has space for two existing analogue home phones to be plugged in

 

This enabling you to use VOIP for your phone but use your existing analogue phones.

 

This workaround should allow you FTTP but to keep your existing landline by switching to a voip provider after the additional FTTP installation has occurred.

 

Hopefully this will help people going forward.