cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

582n router trial initial thoughts

brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

582n router trial initial thoughts

Works out of the box with IPv6 on an ADSL connection  Smiley
Using it to post this. Getting 10/10 on test-ipv6.com, with both Windows 7, fedora 16 & Android.
PeteB
22 REPLIES 22
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,305
Thanks: 32
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

-edit again! - rebooted and now score 9/10.
Quote
Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have no access to the IPv6 Internet, or is not configured to use it. This may in the future restrict your ability to reach IPv6-only sites.

-end edit Tongue
I'm scoring 0/10 on that test.
Quote
Test IPv6 large packet
bad (1.261s)
http://ipv6.test-ipv6.com/ip/?callback=?&size=1600&fill=xxx...xxx
Validates that IPv6 requests with large packets work. If this test times out, but other IPv6 tests work, it suggests that there may be PMTUD issues; possibly involving IP tunnels.
Test if your ISP's DNS server uses IPv6
bad (1.343s)
http://ds.v6ns.test-ipv6.com/ip/?callback=?
(This is bonus credit)
This is a test of your ISP's resolver (instead of a test of your host). If this test passes, your DNS server (often run by your ISP) is capable of reaching IPV6-only DNS authoritative servers on the Internet. This is not critical (at this time) for you to reach sites via IPv6.

The over-view for Internet Services / Internet Connection seems like it has a mis-reporting error:
Quote
TCP/IPv6 Settings
IPv6 State: Enabled
IPv6 Address: fe80::a76:ffff:feb5:67be/64
DNS Server 1: 2001:470:20::2

I believe the fe80 is a 127.0.0.1 type IP address, so it isn't showing my IPV6 address.
Service configuration is an area that needs work too.  From what I can see the only way to make alterations is by going through the Wizard which means starting from scratch, I put in the wrong password so had to go through the wizard again to put in the correct one, though it's probably something that people are only ever going to use once but it would be nice to have the option of being able to manually change just 1 setting.
Speed wise, my Attenuation went from 34 to 33, so it's lower than on my Cisco, if the SNR drops to 3 it'll be even faster!
I'm having issues, just tried to run http://ipv6-test.com/ and "Your internet connection is not IPv6 capable" which is odd....
Quote
C:\Users\David>tracert ipv6.google.com
Tracing route to ipv6.l.google.com [2a00:1450:400c:c01::93]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1     3 ms     3 ms     4 ms  2a02:16c8:2000:f00:a76:ffff:feb5:67be
 2    41 ms    41 ms    42 ms  2a02:16c8:0:1::c
 3    41 ms    40 ms    41 ms  2a02:16c8:1:8016::1
 4    40 ms    40 ms    40 ms  2001:4860:1:1:0:1ad7::
 5    41 ms    40 ms    40 ms  2001:4860::1:0:3067
 6    41 ms    41 ms    41 ms  2001:4860::8:0:2dde
 7    47 ms    46 ms    48 ms  2001:4860::8:0:2ac3
 8    47 ms    46 ms    47 ms  2001:4860::2:0:87d
 9    61 ms    52 ms    52 ms  2001:4860:0:1::233
10    49 ms    48 ms    45 ms  bru01m01-in-x93.1e100.net [2a00:1450:400c:c01::9
3]
Trace complete.

Time to get out me hammer?
-edit: could be a DNS issue, how do I add other DNS servers?
MJN
Pro
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-08-2010

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

Quote from: PeteB
Getting 10/10 on test-ipv6.com, with both Windows 7, fedora 16 & Android.

Are you getting 10/10 on Android? What browser, and OS version, are you using?
It's good if you are - picking up IPv6 DNS settings on Android has been an issue for a long time but if that's been sorted in more recent updates (I've got Android 2.3.5) that's a great sign.
Mathew
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

Using Android 2.3.4 using the default browser on a Samsung Galaxy S2
MJN
Pro
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-08-2010

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

Okay thanks Pete. Perhaps it's picking them up out of the RA advertisements from the router (rather than DHCPv6 which I'm having to use for DNS as my Cisco doesn't seem to pass the DNS server details on).
Mathew
BenTrimble
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 2,106
Registered: ‎06-02-2008

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

@David W
"Listen to IPv6 RA..." should be un-ticked as per the setup instructions, did you mess that step out?
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,305
Thanks: 32
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

Nope, followed the instructions in the PM as I was setting it up, it's all working now after a reboot, except the DNS servers report on test-ipv6
-edit- still having the issue with IPV4 speeds being capped at 7Mb too so it rules out a router issue.
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

I was getting 9/10 on my 7800N for some OSs.
Think it was due to the OS (Linux & Android) using the IPv4 address of the router for DNS and not picking up the IPv6 DNS from the router.
Windows 7 & Vista would report 10/10.
Never spent enough time to get to the bottom of it.
PeteB
BenTrimble
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 2,106
Registered: ‎06-02-2008

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

Two for two with a single reboot then, looking good for the Technicolor so far Cheesy
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,305
Thanks: 32
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

I'm scoring 10/10 now on IPV6 so I'm guessing it's the website itself that's incorrect at times
MJN
Pro
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-08-2010

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

That's probably unlikely as detecting what transport the DNS query is coming from is fairly easy.
For those clients that do get an IPv6 entry in their resolver list the issue is more likely the fact that will also have IPv4 entries in there and might not always be preferring using the former over the latter.  In most cases it will actually be that no IPv6 entries whatsoever are getting into the resolver list due to varying degrees of support for RA and DHCPv6 in both routers and clients alike.
Mathew
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,305
Thanks: 32
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

But using same browser, same router, same OS, same everything and getting two different results from the same website should be more an indicator of a problem with the website shouldn't it?
MJN
Pro
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-08-2010

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

Not when the resolver list contains a mix of IPv4 and IPv6 resolvers to use. Whilst most OS's try each resolv in order (that they appear in the file) some also attempt to optimise future lookups by noting which resolvers are responding quickest. It can only take a temporary networking issue to cause a timeout and for that resolver to be missed on that, and possibly future, lookups.
Of course, I am not in a position to categorically state that the website couldn't make a mistake - however given that the resolver list behaviour is known, and can lead to different results from one query to the next, I'd put my money on it being a client 'issue' than anything else. If the site couldn't determine IP transport with confidence it would arguably be a misleading test to include.
Mathew
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,305
Thanks: 32
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

Ahh, I see your point, seems reasonable enough to me Smiley
Back on track.  I ran the IPV6 Firewall Scan and it came back as all in stealth so the router is properly handling IPV4 and 6 firewall traffic properly, which is good.
sjrinfroyle
Grafter
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎08-05-2011

Re: 582n router trial initial thoughts

Some initial first impressions from me:
1. The router uses a Broadcom chipset for speed and stability
2. The wireless performance is okay to average - the router seems to report 270Mbps but even sitting next to the router I only get 65Mbps. Does anybody know why this is?
3. IPv6 setup was easy and it worked first time - I got a 10/10 on http://test-ipv6.com/
4. The router's telnet functionality is poor and you can't do things like SNR tweaks
5. The router doesn't run very hot and it is raised off of the ground a bit so this will hopefully prevent overheating
Overall, so far not too bad! I am using the Billion 7800N at the moment as I like to tweak the SNR to get the best speed. Does anybody know if the Billion 7800N can be set to modem only mode?