cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

Ipv6 no longer working.
Rebooted modem/router (7800N) followed by all attached devices, Linux, Android & Windows 7.
All these were working with ipv6 prior to the "maintenance" on 12/7/2011.
No changes to any of my systems or Router configuration.
Will report further when I have time.
Anybody else on the ipv6 trial still OK?
PB
[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim)  Posts split off at the request of PeteB and title changed ]
21 REPLIES 21
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: IPv6 Maintenance

I manually set the ipv6 address etc. on a Windows 7 PC, ipv6 is working again but only on this device.
My router (7800N) is still picking up an ipv6 address from Plusnet but appears to have stopped handing ipv6 addresses out to attached devices.
I have not changed the router setup, ipv6 stopped working at about the time of the maintenance we were notified about.
Will investigate further when I get a chance.
PB
AxeMurderer
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎18-05-2011

Re: IPv6 Maintenance

I'm still a bit suspicious of the 7800N's IPv6 handling. Yes, it obviously can work, but possibly it can also trip itself up from time to time. It might be worth giving it another reboot (does it always need one more reboot than it should? Like I say, I'm suspicious...)
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: IPv6 Maintenance

Will get a chance to look at this on Wednesdaly.
Have tried rebooting a number of times but still not working, it is not helping my speed.
I have a long line, 60dB attenuation, SNR margin is now 12dB.
Waiting to get this sorted out before requesting a reset.
PB
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: IPv6 Maintenance

radvd is running on the 7800N router and the radvd.conf file looks OK.
I have now rebooted the router at least 10 times including a factory reset and manually entering all the settings, still no ipv6 except for the static address.
Next step is to use Wireshark
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: IPv6 Maintenance

radvdump on a linux box shows that the 7800N is issuing router advertisements. I assume the configuration is from Plusnet via RADIUS.
None of my systems, Windows 7, linux & android are making use of the router advertisements to set up an ipv6 address.
I am handicapped by not having a working router to compare things with.
Can anyone advise on what the problem is?
PB
Output from radvdump
#
# radvd configuration generated by radvdump 1.7
# based on Router Advertisement from fe80::204:****:****:****
# received by interface eth0
#
interface eth0
{
AdvSendAdvert on;
# Note: {Min,Max}RtrAdvInterval cannot be obtained with radvdump
AdvManagedFlag off;
AdvOtherConfigFlag on;
AdvReachableTime 0;
AdvRetransTimer 0;
AdvCurHopLimit 64;
AdvDefaultLifetime 1800;
AdvHomeAgentFlag off;
AdvDefaultPreference medium;
AdvSourceLLAddress on;
prefix 2a02:16c8:****:***::/64
{
AdvValidLifetime 0;
AdvPreferredLifetime 0;
AdvOnLink on;
AdvAutonomous on;
AdvRouterAddr off;
}; # End of prefix definition
}; # End of interface definition
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: IPv6 Maintenance


It looks as if the problem may be due to a bug in radvd (version 1.0) on the 7800N.
7800N /var/radvd.conf
interface br0
{
  AdvSendAdvert on;
  MinRtrAdvInterval 198;
  MaxRtrAdvInterval 600;
  AdvDefaultPreference medium;
  AdvManagedFlag off;
  AdvOtherConfigFlag on;
prefix 2a02:16c8:****:****::/64
{
  AdvPreferredLifetime infinity;
  AdvValidLifetime infinity;
  AdvOnLink on;
  AdvAutonomous on;
  AdvRouterAddr off;
};
};

I copied the radvd.conf file onto a linux box and it worked as expected, radvd (version 1.7).
There was a difference in the radvdump output when identical radvd.conf files were run on the 7800N or the linux box

Linux
AdvPreferredLifetime infinity;
AdvValidLifetime infinity;
7800N
AdvPreferredLifetime 0;
AdvValidLifetime 0;
I then edited the radvd.conf file on the 7800N, removing the two above lines and restarted the radvd daemon.
ipv6 is now working again.
The changes to radvd.conf do need to be reapplied following a router reboot.
I will attempt to raise this with Billion support.
PB
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Billion 7800N ipv6 no longer working

i have split these posts off at the request of PeteB as it really isn't related to the IPv6 Maintenance thread.
If I missed any or moved some I shouldn't have please drop me a PM and I will fix it
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

Problem is still ongoing, ticket raised with Billion support on 21 July 2011 - still waiting for a reply.
I have a manual "fix" I have to apply after each reconnection or reboot.
PB
knightnet
Newbie
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎15-06-2011

Re: Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

Hi again Pete.
Here is my conf file

> cat  /var/radvd.conf
interface br0
{
  AdvSendAdvert on;
  MinRtrAdvInterval 198;
  MaxRtrAdvInterval 600;
  AdvDefaultPreference medium;
  AdvManagedFlag off;
  AdvOtherConfigFlag on;
prefix 2a02:16c8:2000:d00::/64
{
  AdvPreferredLifetime infinity;
  AdvValidLifetime infinity;
  AdvOnLink on;
  AdvAutonomous on;
  AdvRouterAddr off;
};
};

I don't have wireshark to hand just now to test.
How do you manually change the file on the router? And what to?
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

You might like to edit your earlier posting and hide most of the ipv6 address prefix.
I have sent you a message with my full notes, they were written for my use and therefore assume a knowledge of Linux.
You will need to replace my ipv6 prefix with yours.
I use PuTTY as my terminal emulator and copy and paste the commands from the Word document to the 7800N.
If it works for you please let me know and I will then tidy the notes up and post them in this thread.
PB
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

Just upgraded my 7800N to firmware 1,06e from the Billion Aussie website.
ipv6 seems to be working again without requiring any manual intervention. This may be a coincidence.
When I get a chance I will downgrade to 1.06d and retest it. Hopefully by then Billion UK will have made 1.06e available and I will upgrade and retest.
PB

brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

I spoke too soon. With 1.06e ipv6 sometimes works, mostly not.
It all seems to be to do with client devices not picking up an ipv6 address. I have set a fixed v6 IP address on a PC and it works 100%.
This problem might be the same as the one reported by mwerle in the thread: PlusNet IPv6 with DrayTek 2750Vn "http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,98896.0.html
PeteB
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

Just upgraded my 7800N to firmware 1.06f from the Billion Aussie website.
Problem is still present.
It appears this may be an incompatibility between the IPv6 parts of the 7800N and the Plusnet RADIUS setup.
I stand to be corrected on this and am waiting for a trial 582n to arrive in case it sheds any light on the matter.
Pete
BenTrimble
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 2,106
Registered: ‎06-02-2008

Re: Billion 7800N IPv6 no longer working

I've got my fingers and toes crossed that the 582n routers will be here today in which case they'll be flashed and sent out today for a slim chance of delivery before Christmas!