cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Landline Charges

bustermissy1961
Grafter
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-09-2014

Landline Charges

Ive been reading that the Landline charges should be scrapped for customers who don't use their phone to make fixed-line calls. As i don't use my phone line only my mobile will plusnet be doing anything regarding this in the future. Obviously when you sign up you have to have a landline but if you don't actually use the phone for calls you should have you're bill modified. I know people will say well its not plusnet's fault you don't use the phone but there must be thousands and thousands of people who don't use the phone, but are still being charged monthly for line rental.
4 REPLIES 4
w23
Pro
Posts: 6,344
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Landline Charges

You still need to have the copper wires to deliver your broadband (unless you're extremely lucky and have FTTP), this copper must be maintained and the line rental charge covers this (though the charge could be less).
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
PeterLoftus
Pro
Posts: 2,583
Thanks: 178
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: Landline Charges

W23 +1
The issue is with the small print in the adverts. The adverts always give the line rental as well as the headline ridiculously cheap  broadband price but in small print. But it leads to the misapprehension that broadband is available separately.  Forcing both figures to be presented in the same letter size would solve the issue IMHO
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 424
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Landline Charges

Other opinions on this subject can be read in this thread - Culture Secretary wants to ban line rental charges?
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,398
Thanks: 6,226
Fixes: 1,453
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Landline Charges

mod:note
locked in favour of linked topic.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'