cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Continuous Ring Tone

outtopasture
Dabbler

Continuous Ring Tone

Hello, I'm new to Plusnet for about two weeks now.  When the land-line rings, it rings with a continuous tone, not the traditional "Brrring...Brrrring" I had before.  Is this normal?  It's strangely irritating.  (I've tried other ringtones built in to my Panasonic handset and they all suffer from the same issue.)

11 REPLIES 11
Chris
Legend
Fixes: 169

Re: Continuous Ring Tone

That sounds very odd, I've just tested your line for a few different symptoms and it's advising that the fault may be with your equipment. I don't suppose you have, or can borrow, a different handset to test this on?

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
outtopasture
Dabbler

Thank you very much for the prompt reply.  I don't have a different handset and actually it would be difficult to borrow one. 

In any case, I find it hard to believe it's my equipment, as it was working normally with my previous provider (Talk Talk) and developed this new strange behaviour only immediately after the line switched to Plusnet.  I tried phoning the Help service but I'm not prepared to wait 15 minutes plus (is that why you're called 'Plus-net'?) in a phone queue.

The phone still works normally in other respects: dial tone, connection, speech clarity etc.

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Fixes: 76

You can pick up a cheap phone from Argos or other high street shop for around £5 - might be worth it rather than the possibility of a £65 charge if it is your phone. 

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 1,599

I've created a ticket on your account with a couple other checks you could try.

If you would like us to arrange an engineer to investigate further, just reply to this ticket

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
outtopasture
Dabbler