Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

terrible d/l speeds from Steam on Fibre help please

hemlok666
Hooked

terrible d/l speeds from Steam on Fibre help please

Hi everyone,
I am new to fibre not the internet, but i am getting awfully slow downloads from Steam, my wifi test shows that i am getting 25mb+ at my tower but my actual max speed clocked through Steam is 2.4mb ?! if anyone has any helpful suggestions please fire away. I have checekd my steam settings and they are set for no limit and the router seems to be fully open if you will.
Many thanks in advance for any help you can offer  Wink
take care
H
8 REPLIES 8
St3
Aspiring Champion
Fixes: 5

Re: terrible d/l speeds from Steam on Fibre help please

Hello there Smiley Have u checked your steam settings, check you have downloads restrictions turned off, it should be set too no limit. This could be the problem ?

Porkmeister

Please dont confuse Mb with mb my fibre "download" is 37mb but on steam its 4.5Mb (hope i havent got it the wrong way round 😉 )

twocvbloke
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 3

@Porkmeister wrote:

Please dont confuse Mb with mb

Correction - It is MB and Mb (the capital letters are important), the former is Megabytes, the latter Megabits. 1 Megabyte equates to 8 Megabits, therefore to download 1 Megabyte in one second, it requires an 8 Megabit connection.

Downloads in Steam are usually quoted in Megabytes per second, labelled as MB/s or MBps, whereas the connection speed is Megabits per second, Mb/s or Mbps, if steam is reporting 2.4MB/s then that's almost maxing out your connection (3.125MB/s), presumably with some networking losses along the way or with other traffic consuming bandwidth, it's still a very good speed compared to ADSL where you'd never attain even 1MB/s unless it was a really good day.

tokey
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 2