cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pings

rockintone
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 13-11-2007

Pings

Hi all,
Just moved from Orange (2mb ip stream) to PN (max adsl up to 8mb Option 2) and have noticed that my pings have increased from the mid 30s to mid 40s/50s on uk servers for games such as DOD source etc.
I was hoping for either a better ping or at least the same when I moved to PN - anybody else noticed this or id it an issue with ax adsl?
Comments appreciated.
16 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Pings

Hi there,
We place interleaving on all of our orders as default.  This improves stability, but causes approximately 20ms to be added to latency.  If you raise a ticket I'll be more than happy to remove it for you.
rockintone
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 13-11-2007

Re: Pings

Hi,
Thanks for the prompt response. 
I would however be interested to hear from other gamers out there first who have had it switched off (interleaving) and what they feel with regards to the stability issue.
Hopefully I will generate some comments here Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Pings

If you post your router stats we would have some idea of whether you need interleaving.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
rockintone
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 13-11-2007

Re: Pings

hi,
Not sure what stats you were after so:-
DSL Flavour = ADSL over POTS 
    Reserved Bandwidth (kbit/s) up/down = 448 / 6112 
    Uptime = 04:01:42 
    kBytes Tx/Rx = 2357 / 20140 

      Properties
      Output Power (dBm) up/down = 11.5 / 19.0 
      Attenuation (dB) up/down = 23.0 / 43.0 
      Noise Margin (dB) up/down = 20.0 / 9.5 
      Vendor Id (local/remote) = ALCB / TSTC 


      Statistics
      Loss of signal (local/remote) = 0 / 0 
      Loss of power (local/remote) = 0 / 0 
      Loss of framing (local/remote) = 0 / 0 
      Errored Seconds (local/remote) = 109 / 21 
      Loss of link (remote) = 0 

Is that enough?
Still interested to hear from other gamers on the interleaving on/off issue.
Regards
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Pings

That's exactly what is needed.
Hopefully someone who knows about these things will tell you what you can expect with interleaving off (I suspect it might mean a small drop in sync speed to keep the line stable but you will see far better pings).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Pings

Actually, removal of interleaving can result in a very slight sync increase.
Rockintone - Did you have any issues with stability with Orange?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,357
Thanks: 607
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Pings

James - even if his 2MB Orange connection was stable does that necessarily tell us what 6MB is going to be like on max?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Pings

Ah no, that's a good point.
There's no interleaving on fixed rate services.  The number of errored seconds might be cause for concern.
rockintone
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 13-11-2007

Re: Pings

hi,
My 2mb line with orange was a stable as a rock.  I can only recall i disconection in over 3 years. Then again I do switch my router off when not in use.
I am a bit confused now over the interleaving issue - are you saying that if I switch it off my pings will go up? 
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-04-2007

Re: Pings

Hi rockintone,
I suspect James meant to say that the rate you sync with the exchange can go up once interleaving is removed, rather than ping.
As I understand it ping times will reduce once interleaving is removed. I don't know how much by, but at least 10ms-20ms I would have thought.
ed
Grafter
Posts: 191
Registered: 15-08-2007

Re: Pings

Ping is reduced when interleave is removed (fastpath)
but it can cause malformed packets, because there is no error correction. and they need resending which slows things down if you have a noisy line.
Realy not worth the hassel in my opinion. I'm only 300m from my exhange and found that Fastpath caused about 4 line dissconnections a day that required a router reboot!
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Pings

Quote from: 7th_star
I suspect James meant to say that the rate you sync with the exchange can go up once interleaving is removed, rather than ping.

Yup, thanks.  I've amended my earlier post.
ohforf
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 30-10-2007

Re: Pings

Just wanted to add my experience here. I would say I am about 300m from my exchange too like ed and as gaming is the main reason for my broadband I asked to have interleave switched off. Since then in world of warcraft I get a nice nice average latency of around 60-80 at peak times, off peak around 30ms. This is a massive improvement and for me well worth doing, having said that I have a really good quality line and done get get any errors. So if you have a good line go for it, if not dont.
Shanksy
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 24-11-2007

Re: Pings

hi my pings are quite high even tho i'm on pro and i have requested interleaving off can any1 check if it is off please
my username is lfcshanks