cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PN new network

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,217
Thanks: 1,109
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

PN new network

was just interested to find out if any Gamers had swiched over to the new network ?
And did it make any difference ?
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
12 REPLIES
Mathias
Grafter
Posts: 242
Registered: 21-08-2008

Re: PN new network

what new network and how do we switch over?
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,217
Thanks: 1,109
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: PN new network

You have to wait for PN to switch you over  Wink
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,307
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: PN new network

http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,147447.0.html
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,16707.msg308083.html#msg308083
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Mathias
Grafter
Posts: 242
Registered: 21-08-2008

Re: PN new network

Thanks w23
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: PN new network

Im moving over within 2 weeks from now so im told Smiley
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
NoZephy
Rising Star
Posts: 190
Thanks: 12
Registered: 27-01-2015

Re: PN new network

@st3 Have you been moved over yet? any improvements? I'm sitting at 10-11ms as it is but back on BT I used to get 7-8ms so I was hoping the switch to a dedicated wbmc would see those pings go back to what they used to be.
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: PN new network

still waiting, they told me march but didnt give me a date, so im kinda just waiting too Smiley
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,217
Thanks: 1,109
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: PN new network

Maybe they waiting till after wedding  Cool
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,393
Thanks: 209
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: PN new network

         
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: PN new network

yer maybe lol  Wink
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
NoZephy
Rising Star
Posts: 190
Thanks: 12
Registered: 27-01-2015

Re: PN new network

I'm on the new network now.

 

Talking about ping. Pings are very slightly lower, around 8-9ms now instead of 10-12ms that I was getting before, most noticeably though the routing seems to have been improved quite significantly, especially when you ping servers at an increasing distance. All of the EU traffic goes through BT's Faraday and through EU servers owned by them, from what I can tell.

Before I was getting about 50-55ms to Finland but now it's dropped to 39ms. About 37ms to Sweden and now 33ms. Anything closer like Netherlands, France, Germany have all pretty much stayed the same, 14ms for NL, 16ms for France and around 22ms for Germany. I was getting around 260ms to Japanese servers before but now it's dropped to 230ms.

 

One other thing I can report is that I don't have problems with YouTube or Twitch anymore. On YouTube I used to have issues buffering things any higher than 720p. Sometimes it would be fine but most of the time I could end up with videos just not even loading if I tried 1080p,1440p,4k etc. Now it's completely fine no matter what I pick and instantly starts playing with very little buffer. Twitch also has the same effect, there were a few ingest servers in the USA I had problems streaming video from when it came to certain streamers, now that's gone as well.

 

So far new network seems to be a big thumbs up, just hope it stays that way.

 

EDIT: For those wondering what I was pinging exactly, I went through and pinged various servers owned by privateinternetaccess. They all accept ICMP so you can ping all of their VPN servers that are in different countries. If you go on the support part of their website, they list all of the addresses for the servers.

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: PN new network

Nothing has really changed for me, ive been on new network a couple of weeks now and all is good Smiley 

Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970