cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

FIXED
RHines
Rising Star
Posts: 58
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

Howdy, I was hoping someone could check my service to make sure it's been provisioned correctly. Openreach has just left and everything is working albeit at 75/75 rather than 500/150.

 

I am connected via ethernet with a gigabit card.

I am using the plusnet router/hub.

 

Thanks!

13 REPLIES 13
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,828
Thanks: 3,577
Fixes: 226
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

The upload speed on a 550mbps provisioned service is 75mbps, not 150mbps.

Have you received your account change confirmation email? It could be that things haven't updated at our side yet.

What are you testing from, and how is it connected to the hub? Also worth making sure you don't have any low grade ethernet cables or 10/100 ethernet ports in the path.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

RHines
Rising Star
Posts: 58
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

I haven't received an email yet, the openreach guy said it should be good to go and I should contact you guys and let you know what's going on.

 

I am connected via ethernet and a intel gigabit card and I can confirm the router does detect a gigabit connection with my machine. Just download speeds are maxing out at 75 is all.

 

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,828
Thanks: 3,577
Fixes: 226
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

Fix

Likely a waiting game then.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

RHines
Rising Star
Posts: 58
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

Okey dokey.

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,973
Thanks: 764
Fixes: 70
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

@RHines  Do you have a static IP by any chance?

RHines
Rising Star
Posts: 58
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

I do and I did read the other day about that  weird bug where it sometimes gets lost. Although not a biggie since I don't use it these days.

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,828
Thanks: 3,577
Fixes: 226
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

Something else to clarify: it shouldn't be necessary to wait for the account change however the logic that was implemented to avoid such a thing isn't quite working as it should. I suspect that's something else (along with the IP issue) that should be resolved before too long.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

RHines
Rising Star
Posts: 58
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

The account change confirmation came through and it looks like my router rebooted last night but I am still getting 75/75 ish.

 

Also as a side note my static ip is still working and does resolve back to the HH2.

 

test.pngtest2.png

RHines
Rising Star
Posts: 58
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

Rebooted one time and boom now it's working as it should. Smiley

 

Thanks Ya'll!

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,742
Thanks: 3,189
Fixes: 238
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

... and your static IP ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

RHines
Rising Star
Posts: 58
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

Static ip is gone 😕

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,742
Thanks: 3,189
Fixes: 238
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

but hopefully not forgotten

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

RHines
Rising Star
Posts: 58
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: New install, slow sleeps (70/70) Rather than 500

Not a biggie, I just cancelled the addon. if I end up needing a static ip again I'll just one from noip or tplink. Either way I am happy. Smiley