Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP WI-FI Speed Expectations

bullybeef73
Grafter

FTTP WI-FI Speed Expectations

Good evening all,

I'm new to FTTP - it was only installed on April 21st, and my Wi-Fi speeds are all over the place. I am on the Full Fibre 900, with min guarantee estimate of 500mbs.

So, at first an ethernet connection kept dropping below 100mbs until researched I needed to purchase a Cat6 ethernet cable, something I wasnt advised of beforehand. Yet, all of my Wi-Fi devices are well below the minimum 500mbs; 2.4ghz devices are under 40mbs, ~50mbs on the PS5, ~200mbs on a few 5ghz/5G phones, and my laptop tops out at ~400mbs. Our home is a small premises, and the Wi-Fi speeds don't differ whether I'm in a bedroom or next to the router on the ground floor(Hub2). 

But I've also noticed my Wi-Fi Link Speed would drop below 100mbs on my 5G handset. I have to turn the Wi-Fi settings off & on until it increases again. Incidentally, the Link Speed on my handset seems to top out at 433mbs, but I get nowhere near that on any speed test on various sites. 

I've made Plusnet aware of this a few times now, and although been promised a call back to possibly arrange a engineer visit, I'm still yet to receive one. Every time I call, I'm told to wait for a call back. A Right to Leave notice has been added to my account for June 3rd (I wasn't verbally told this), so I'm concerned whether this would give them enough time to discover the problem and hopefully rectify it.

This is based upon the fact I signed up on March 9th, my install date was April 4th, but the engineer couldn't complete the install because he couldn't climb to pole without a hoist. I was switched on on April 21st, six weeks after signing up. And curiously my bill date began on March 9th - I was being billed for Full Fibre before I had it. Plus the engineer didn't refill the hole in drilled in my wall to secure his ladder. All in all, I am pretty disillusioned at the moment.