cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

forbes-38
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎05-09-2017

Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

Got a deal on uplift to fibre 300 other day. All well but...whilst advertised at speeds of 300-330 when I check my speed it varies from hour to hour, and from tester to tester. Speeds show nearer just over 200 - 220.

 

Changed on Tuesday 18th, now Thursday 20th. How long should it take for true speeds to become constant ..... 

9 REPLIES 9
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,073
Thanks: 5,726
Fixes: 407
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

How long should it take for true speeds to become constant ..... 

There is no training period on Full fibre! You should get the full speed instantly...

Are you doing the speed tests wired or wireless ? and which speedtester ( try speedtest.net )

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

forbes-38
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎05-09-2017

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

Hi again...My router on Ground floor with my PC one floor above. Vertical distance between two is about 7 feet. Near router my iPhone shows speeds of 300-310mbps. However my wifi connected PC only gives 210'ish, still fast but not what I am paying for.

Installed a range extender and my wifi analyser app shows that main router has speed ?? of -60Bm whilst extender shows -48dBm. Google shows that extender has stronger signal, but...when I change between two "routers" actual speed on extender is just over 100mbps with original router giving 210'ish. 

 

Any ideas as to what I can do to up wifi speed at my PC - given locations I cannot connect via ethernet cable.....

bill888
Champion
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 263
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

What speed does the PC see over wifi when it is next to the hub if it can be temporarily relocated?

 

Please provide more details about the actual make and model of the hub (hub 2 I presume?), range extender, and details of the PC including age.

If it is a Windows PC, look in Device Manager and identify the make/model of wifi card listed under 'Network Adapters'.  (If it has a cheap 1x1 AC wifi card, it will probably max out at 200 mbps)

In general, repeaters (range extenders) will halve the maximum speed of a wireless connection btw.

Consider upgrading wifi card, installing a wireless bridge (ethernet to wifi adapter for the PC), or look at tri-band mesh wifi option.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ex-Plusnet (ADSL, FTTC) 2008-2023. now BT (FTTP) 2023-
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,351
Thanks: 1,113
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

@forbes-38 

If you are getting near advertised speeds close to the router then you are getting what you paid for.

 

PlusNet, nor any other ISP, are responsible for WiFi speeds within a property unless they give guarentees.

 

Brian

pjmarsh
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 4,046
Thanks: 1,599
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

@forbes-38, also whilst it may only be 7 foot between the devices, what else is in that 7 foot space?  Presumably a floor/ceiling with some quite hefty joists, floor boards, carpet, plaster board, insulation, electrical wiring, light fixtures, copper pipes.  All stuff that will reduce any wifi signal and some may also be the source of some interference.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

James30
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 420
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎19-04-2023

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

@forbes-38, I prefer not to think about it as something is in the way. The bigger issues is noise. Think it like we're in quite pub 7FT away from each other having a nice chat about Wi-Fi. Saturday night comes along and it's now full of people having their conversations. There's no body between us but yet we still can't talk very well and perhaps have to slow down the words so you understand me better. That leads me onto the purposes of a mesh, they will give out a signal hopefully from a less noisy part of the house. With the introduction of Wi-Fi 6e the 5GHZ tech has come down in price so it's worthwhile having a look on Hotukdeals and see what crops ups (This is not a sponsor, other deals sites are available).

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
James - Plusnet Sheffield
Plusnet Help Team
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,900
Thanks: 5,008
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

@James30 - I don't think a mesh system is necessarily going to help here given proximity between hub and PC, and physical obstructions are just as relevant as interference/noise in determining performance.

It would be helpful to have the answer to the questions posed by @bill888 - the capability of the PC's wireless card is a contributing factor.

@forbes-38 - An extender isn't necessarily going to help either depending on (again) it's capabilities, and also where you have positioned it. All many cheap extenders will do, is take an existing Wi-Fi signal and push it further into a property. The throughput of the extended signal will almost always be worse than what you would achieve when simply stood in the extender's proposed location running a speedtest to the hub i.e. the extended signal adds further degradation.

The signal strengths you are quoting do not correlate directly with speed either. For a dB reading, lower is better, but it's just a reflection of the link speed between your device and the nearest access point. If there are multiple access points in use then it only tells you part of the story. Imagine this: -

Hub <-60dB> Extender <-40dB> Device

You may get -40dB signal when connected to the extender, but the speed isn't necessarily going to be any better because the extender still has to 'talk' back to the hub over the -60dB link, exactly as your device would if you connected it directly to the hub rather than the extender.

If the extender you have is a pair where one plug connects to the hub via a cable and then you position the other in a socket elsewhere in your property, then that too can present issues. These solutions use Powerline technology to carry your Internet traffic accross your electrical wiring. For some, this can have the same effect as wiring a second access point directly to the router (a good solution to a Wi-Fi coverage problem), however for many - especially where higher FTTP Internet speeds are concerned - the quality of the electircal wiring between the two plugs will prevent that part of the link getting anywhere close to 300mbps. This in turn, means that anything connected wirelessly to the extender plug, is going to be limited by the speed through the electric ring.  

There are routers that support newer Wi-Fi standards, however there are again caveats: -

  • A Wi-Fi6 router will not help unless your PC has a Wi-Fi6 capable wireless card, which I'm warranting a guess it does not.
  • Same applies for Wi-Fi 6E, however that's not a viable solution anyway as Wi-Fi6E uses the 6GHz band which is worse than 5GHz over distance/through walls etc.

It could be argued that a 5GHz router with support for the higher power 'UNII-2' 5GHz channels might help (the Plusnet hub doesn't support them), but at this point I think you'd be chasing your tail, especially given the marginal gain and lack of guarantee that it would help.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,351
Thanks: 1,113
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

@forbes-38 

Have you considered getting someone in to run ethernet cable up the outside with wall mounted sockets at either end?

 

Not the cheapest option but it gives you a solid starting point upstairs and is guarenteed.

 

Plus it doesn't required electricity, you don't have to fiddle about "pairing" devizies and it doesn't go out or date you so need for replacements at a later date.

 

Finally it adds "value" to the property by giving a solid starting point on the upper floor.

 

Brian

ClaudiaG23
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 345
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 23
Registered: ‎02-05-2023

Re: Full Fibre speed 300-330mbps - NOT...

@forbes-38  I've checked your connection and you're on the right speed. When you've ran your speed test is this on a hard wired connection or wireless? 

If on a wireless could you run a hard wired test for me, using an Ethernet cable. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Claudia Garner
 Plusnet Help Team