cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

rockplough
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2016

Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

I had Full Fibre 500 activated on Tuesday. During installation the engineer tested the fibre and told me it was an excellent result and I should get good speeds.

I haven't seen more than 340mb and speed testers (including BTW) are now showing less than 250mb. This is over a CAT6 wired ethernet connection into a 10gig card in a fast PC with no other devices active.

Should I report this now or can I expect speeds to increase over the next while?

14 REPLIES 14
Shep41
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 463
Thanks: 178
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎31-05-2017

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

There is no settled down period for fttp fibre. Can we ask what router are you using?
The 10 day training period only applied to ADSL broadband
Tags (1)
rockplough
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2016

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

I have the ONT connected to a TP-Link Archer VR2100 running latest firmware. There's plenty of headroom in the CPU and memory utilisation on the router, and no QoS applied.

Protech
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 166
Thanks: 76
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-09-2017

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

"The Archer VR2100 features Super VDSL (VDSL2 Profile 35b), the latest generation of DSL technology. Downstream is increased by up to 350 Mbps"
It looks like this router maxes out at 350Mbps
You can check out but you can never leave ( easily)
rockplough
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2016

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

That refers to the VDSL 35b feature (not a factor for FTTP), not throughput.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,380
Thanks: 5,300
Fixes: 380
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

True, but i cant find any definitive specs as to WAN throughput on the vr2100.

Id be inclined to try a temporary direct PPPoE connection from the pc to the ONT and see what that achieves

That should prove whether the vr2100 is a factor or not...

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 1,370
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

@rockplough  I would agree with @MisterW and test without the router in the equation.  A single box modem/router device is likely to be designed to support the maximum modem speed which would suggest that 350Mbps could also be the maximum PPPoE WAN throughput in router mode.

rockplough
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2016

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

I think it's highly unlikely that the router throughout is capped to modem speed but I'll try the homehub Plusnet gave me with the 500mb service.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,380
Thanks: 5,300
Fixes: 380
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

@rockplough that's a worthwhile test.

Going back to the VR2100, make sure QoS is disabled and if there's a NAT boost option, then its enabled

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

rockplough
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2016

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

Well I humbly take it all back. The homehub gives me full speed! Still seems odd to me. What's the point of a router having 5GHz wifi for example if the most WAN it will handle is (currently) 250mb?

Anyway thanks for everyone's input.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,380
Thanks: 5,300
Fixes: 380
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

@rockplough  no problem, at least we found the cause. Knowing that the VR2100 was limiting it is useful information for others.

I suspect there's quite a few routers based on the same chipset that will have similar problems.

What's the point of a router having 5GHz wifi for example if the most WAN it will handle is (currently) 250mb?

A good question. 5ghz has a shorter range so, in theory, there's less interference from neighboring wifi networks

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

rockplough
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2016

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

Well to add more to this, The Plusnet hub wireless was quite poor so as a last resort I tried a full factory reset of the VR2100 and that's now giving me full speed too. God knows why that would be the case but there you go.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,380
Thanks: 5,300
Fixes: 380
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

QoS settings altered by the reset perhaps?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

rockplough
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2016

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?

Not sure, but I did check QoS during initial troubleshooting and it was disabled.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,853
Thanks: 4,923
Fixes: 315
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Does FTTP have a 'settle in' period and if so how long?


@rockplough wrote:

The Plusnet hub wireless was quite poor ...


Which is interesting because on paper the two devices have very similar specs.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵