cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Was it worth it?

nanasboyo
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-09-2015

Was it worth it?

Ok...................................moved from Sky cos' my speeds for super fibre were poor. Guess What No change!! Angry Angry

Postcode: Phone exchange :RHOSLLANERCHRUGOG Estimated line speed:35Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.)  - Checked on 2015-07-27 16:21:31Current line speed:21 Mb
Estimated line speed: 6Mbps
Current line speed: 21Mbps

This is the e-mail I get today and I think why?? Do I put some sort of fault report in? Those figures are really poor
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Was it worth it?

Can you post the results from http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome please
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Was it worth it?

Your currently syncing at around 28mbps which is 7mbps below your estimate.
It may be worth raising a fault to see what we can do although I can't promise the speeds will get better.
You can raise a fault here https://faults.plus.net
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Menruna
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-12-2013

Re: Was it worth it?

Why do people believe changing supplier will magically make their line faster?
It's the same line, provided by BT at the end of the day, regardless of ISP. Always bemuses me, but then some ISPs do prey on the uninformed. Not Plusnet however.
Alucidnation
Grafter
Posts: 182
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎03-01-2015

Re: Was it worth it?

Doesn't Sky being LLU have any effect?
Haybasha
Rising Star
Posts: 157
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎07-05-2014

Re: Was it worth it?

Strange how it says speeds are the maximum when they are actually the minimum OR estimates they quote now.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Was it worth it?

Quote from: Alucidnation
Doesn't Sky being LLU have any effect?

No because the sync speed is still negotiated with the BT FTTC cabinet. (On Sky LLU ADSL it is negotiated with the Sky equipment in the exchange which can make a difference)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)