cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Fibre Install

nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

New Fibre Install

So after a 5 day delay due to the first engineer messing up the install last week, my Fibre finally went live on Tuesday morning, for the first 48 hours it was synced up at 75/19 and was rock solid, in the early hours of Thursday morning i lost sync for about 5 minutes and when it came back up it was synced at 75/16, now my line is really short and the engineers tests said i should be able to get maximum upload speed easily due to my short line.
Is there any way to get the upload sync speed back up?

Also i had a random phonecall today from what seemed like an Openreach reminder service for an engineer booked in the 8th, yet i have not asked for or have any knowledge of an engineer appointment being booked.
12 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: New Fibre Install

Hi nightstalk3r,
As line management on fibre is entirely automated there's a chance you'll see the upload increase over the next few days.
As for the phone call we've made no such arrangements ourselves so I can only put that down as a mistake on Opereach's part.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install

This morning my downstream has dropped to 66meg, not happy about this.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,445
Thanks: 505
Fixes: 190
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New Fibre Install

Our testing isn't showing any issues but I can see the speeds have dropped.
You can raise it to us at https://faults.plus.net but I can't promise the speeds will go back to 75mbps.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install

I'll give it a couple more days and if it  drops again ill switch to the Openreach modem and see if thats any better, if not ill report a fault.
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install

Pretty sure there is a wiring issue with my line somewhere, the amount of CRC and FEC errors on my line is through the roof and its already syncing way bellow the minimum estimates for my line length.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New Fibre Install

Have you checked for noise on the phone line (quiet line test: dial 17070 option 2)?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install

Quote from: spoon
Have you checked for noise on the phone line (quiet line test: dial 17070 option 2)?
It's quiet, no noise.
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install



nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install

Another resync last night and yet another speed drop, for a line that is barely 300m long 64/16 is not really what you'd expect.
SNR is all over the place.
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install

Speed is now 20mbit under the estimates and still erroring like hell.
Also now have a boat load of interleaving slapped on my line both up and down.
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install

SNR over the last 24 hours

SNR over the last 5 days

Still getting lots of CRC errors and FEC errors range from 5000 to 30000 per minute.
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: New Fibre Install

Another couple million errors clocked up over the last 24 hours, still no response from plusnet either here or to the ticket i opened 4 days ago, guess it's time to start looking for a provider that does have customer support.