cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GEA Report

dws1900
Rising Star
Posts: 232
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

GEA Report

Please can I have a GEA test, showing all parameters.

Reason: Suspected Interference.

12 REPLIES 12
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,399
Thanks: 276
Fixes: 80
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: GEA Report

Hi @dws1900,

 

Here are the results of the GEA test:

 
GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID BBEUXXXXXXXXX
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 22.8 Mbps
Upstream Speed 1.9 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 1518.6
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-40M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2019-08-02T10:15:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 22.6 Mbps 22.8 Mbps 22.8 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 1.8 Mbps 2.0 Mbps 1.8 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 887.4 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2019-08-15T08:45:34Z 2019-08-15T09:00:34Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
dws1900
Rising Star
Posts: 232
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: GEA Report

@EmilyD 

 

Thank You.

Looks like its not interference, more like crosstalk. Sad

 

A quick question, the Down Stream Line Rate, is this the rate quoted when you sign up as the minimum speed, and is the same as the Downstream Handback Threshold(Mbps) for a VDSL Range A (Clean) line as quoted on the BT Availability Checker?

My Downstream Handback Threshold(Mbps) according my extensive collection of the BT Availability Checker reports, sad I know Smiley actually varies, from 16.5 to 17.7 Mbs over the last 12 months, is this normal?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 823
Thanks: 217
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: GEA Report

@dws1900

 

I'm afraid it does look that way. We can try and go down a fault route if you'd like.

 

The downstream line rate that's quoted as a minimum guaranteed speed is normally always the low impacted reading on the dsl checker (VDSL Range B (Impacted)). As far as I understand the Downstream Handback threshold is an MGAL illustration, which is the 10th percentile of speed for the line (with A being the 80th and B being the 20th percentile), I believe the handback allows you to give an indication of the MGAL for a line before actually ordering a service with an ISP (or at least if they have an active service in the OR network when placing an order). Confusing but I've found this that might be useful for you, if you're interested. 

 

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
dws1900
Rising Star
Posts: 232
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: GEA Report

@JOLO 

 

Thanks for your reply.

No need for a fault, the connection rate is 22Mbs, but the throughput is reducing due to crosstalk.

This raises the GBP-Mbs ratio, ie getting less for the same or higher fee's, so I am obliged by the financial controller to investigate alternatives and present my cost/technical result.

Thanks for the link to the Openreach document.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,388
Thanks: 582
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: GEA Report

@dws1900 

Did you ever determine if your connection has vectoring? If so, does it?

dws1900
Rising Star
Posts: 232
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: GEA Report

@ejs 

 

Hi

I don't believe it is, but here are the line statistics.

The modem is a Vigor 2860

Line 1 Information      (VDSL2 Firmware Version:  576D17_A/B/C   with Vectoring support )

 

Line Statistics
     
  Downstream             Upstream                
Actual Rate 22835 Kbps 1920 Kbps
Attainable Rate 21616 Kbps 1920 Kbps
Path Mode Fast Fast
Interleave Depth 1 1
Actual PSD 6. 6 dB 12. 0 dB
 
 
  Near End                  Far End                   
Trellis ON ON
Bitswap ON ON
ReTx 0   1  
SNR Margin 1 dB 6 dB
Attenuation 32 dB 38 dB
CRC 1620 21094
FECS 0 s 22521 s
ES 401 s 17800 s
SES 9 s 274 s
LOSS 0 s 0 s
UAS 51 s 3288791 s
HEC Errors 0 0
RS Corrections 0 0
LOS Failure 0 4
LOF Failure 6 0
LPR Failure 0 0
NCD Failure 0 0
LCD Failure 0 0
NFEC 48 32
RFEC 0 16
LYSMB 489 16
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,388
Thanks: 582
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: GEA Report

Those statistics do not indicate the vectoring status. Drayteks put that information somewhere else.

For example, in the 4th screenshot on http://www.itropics.net/computers/networking/171-setup-iinet-fttn-vdsl2-nbn-on-draytek-vigor-2760

dws1900
Rising Star
Posts: 232
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: GEA Report

@ejs1 

There you go...

No Vectoring Active message

Line 1 Information      (VDSL2 Firmware Version:  576D17_A/B/C   with Vectoring support )
  Profile State UP Speed Down Speed SNR Upstream SNR Downstream
  17A SHOWTIME 1,920 (Kbps) 22,835 (Kbps) 6 (dB) 1 (dB)
iangilf
Rising Star
Posts: 493
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2017

Re: GEA Report

hi what sync speed do u actually get if you set your snrs to normal ? and is it in speeds that the dsl checker says it should be if not i would raise a fault and get an engineer to sort the issue you shouldnt be having to lower your snr to 1 the throughput would be flakey with a snr of 1 try normal snrs and see what happens

 

Highlighted
dws1900
Rising Star
Posts: 232
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: GEA Report

@iangilf 

 

The rates etc are over the last 24 hours

min/max/avg/current

 

vigor.Rate Attainable 21.043 Mbps 22.081 Mbps 21.435 Mbps 21.195 Mbps
vigor.RX Current 22.84 Mbps 22.84 Mbps 22.84 Mbps 22.84 Mbps
vigor.snr 1.000 dBm 1.917 dBm 1.009 dBm 1.000 dBm
vigor.Attenuation 32.00 dBm 32.00 dBm 32.00 dBm 32.00 dBm

 

In another post which you remarked on I explained that the snr was dropped to squeeze out a bit more speed frpm a 1500m line, with an extra 128 line capability bolted on the side, and crosstalk.

 

The snr at 3db makes the throughout tests speeds sligtly lower, The tests were carried out every 15 minutes using a cli version of speedtest and fed to the overall graphing system, this is how I detected the throughput speeds dropping at 18:00 - 00:00 every day. After protracted discussions with PN earlier this year, this was fixed by a magic spell (no engineers required) , and has been ok ever since.

In that incident the throughput speed was 4Mbs at times, well below the BT handoff speed and expected speed range.

This was confirmed by a BT speed test.

 

But this is not the speed they go on to determine an issue is it?. If they did then they would be in undated with calls as people would not understand the reason for direct connections to the master box, and doing the test under controlled conditions.

 

Using better equipment and a Huawei dslam allows some tweaking, I did the same when I was on adsl.

REIN on that setup knocked speed down by 4Mbs and caused a jump in the snr. REIN source was 40m away.

The speed at 1dB or 3db or any other snr would only be flakey if the noise exceeded the signal. 

 

PS how you getting on with your Plan B 4G option?

iangilf
Rising Star
Posts: 493
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2017

Re: GEA Report

yeah but what im saying is just cause your syncing at a higher rate by tweaking your snr the throughput will be worse than if your line had a higher snr and a slightly lower sync speed i used to do it aswell on adsl2 connection have you tried a higher snr and checked the throughput?

 

iangilf
Rising Star
Posts: 493
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2017

Re: GEA Report

i dont need to go ahead now with the 4g plan as my line has been fixed 

6. Data Rate: 20000 / 79987
7. Maximum Data Rate: 31099 / 82946
8. Noise Margin: 12.6 / 6.5
9. Line Attenuation: 19.3 / 14.3