cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Webspace

SteelCity1
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎21-07-2023

Webspace

I have a Force 9 account and a domain name/webspace hosted by Plusnet. This goes back some years and I haven't used the webspace although I do use the domain for my email address. 

Because I haven't used the webspace for such a long time and have forgotten how to access it. I found this page which I need to study:  About your Plusnet webspace | Help | Plusnet but I can't remember how much space is available (I think it might be 500MB). 

I want to upload some files to it but don't want it to be published (it's just for myself to read). The problem is that the files I want to upload are in excess of 500MB so that's why I need to know the limit and if it is, whether it can be increased. The files are  phpbb forum software and the sizes are as follows: full backup  719MB, home directory backup 1.35GB and SQL 53.3MB. 

I've managed to find my webspace on the account and clicked on CGI - it takes me to the login page but states that I have incorrect username/password. I am using my Force9 username (without F9 after it) and the password that I use in my router and to login to webmail and my account. 

Please can someone advise? 

4 REPLIES 4
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,574
Thanks: 10,294
Fixes: 1,600
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Webspace

@SteelCity1 - Webspace allocations can vary dependent on the account, looking at yours you have a maximum storage quota of 250MB and a daily bandwidth allowance of this too, which unfortunately can't be increased. 

Is it https://hosting.plus.net/portal/ you are logging into? If so, try resetting the password at https://hosting.plus.net/portal/#CH-auth/passwordrequest and see if you're able to log in with the new password. 

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
SteelCity1
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎21-07-2023

Re: Webspace

Thank you Gandalf. I had thought there would be insufficient space and that increasing it would not be a option,

 

I managed to ftp the space using FileZilla but there was a message about files being seen over the Internet so I logged off. I will look for a lower cost hosting company and ask someone to move the files for me. I just want the content to be available to me personally and don’t need the site to be published and attract Internet traffic. Don’t need email either. 

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,751
Thanks: 5,524
Fixes: 394
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Webspace

@SteelCity1

why not use a free Cloud storage ? https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/broadband-and-tv/free-online-storage/

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

SteelCity1
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎21-07-2023

Re: Webspace

Thank you MrW. Will check that out. I’m currently on web chat with the host company to see if they can give me a lower cost package which is more suited to my needs. That would be the best option as it would save me having to pay someone to move the site.