cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SOGEA

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,541
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

SOGEA

i have just checked my exchange , i noticed that Single Order Generic Ethernet Access (SOGEA) is available ? 

yes i know its just testing are PN taking part ?

bt.PNG

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
12 REPLIES 12
HarryB
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,179
Thanks: 1,458
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: SOGEA

I'm sorry to say we currently don't have any news to share regarding this from our side of things.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,541
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: SOGEA

@HarryB Thanks Thumbs_Up

as they say , you dont know if you dont ask Wink

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,023
Thanks: 2,667
Fixes: 170
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: SOGEA

Out of interest, why do you ask?

Moving you on to SOGEA would make zero difference to the quality of your connection, as everything E-side would remain as it currently is.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,513
Thanks: 3,429
Fixes: 514
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: SOGEA

I noticed this as I did a check on my line....Cool

G-Fast.JPG

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 89.0 (64-bit)

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,519
Thanks: 4,748
Fixes: 1,204
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: SOGEA


@bobpullen wrote:

Out of interest, why do you ask?

 


 

If I understand it you wouldn't need the voice part of the line and thus an expected reduction in price?

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
ejs
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: SOGEA

Despite Plusnet's highly dubious pricing of the FTTP "Trial" when you're not paying line rental, I don't think any significant reduction in price is realistic.

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,023
Thanks: 2,667
Fixes: 170
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: SOGEA

@dvorak, the local loop is still there, and whilst there's no official pricing yet, somebody has to cover the cost of maintaining that. I suspect @ejs is right.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,541
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: SOGEA

Yes I was asking to find out if there's a reduction in costs
TBH our phone line is basically unused as 99percent of call are via mobile device
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,849
Thanks: 849
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: SOGEA

@rongtw

I would assume that the SOGEA price difference would be measure in double digit pennies.

That is just going from the FTTP price differences at ZEN for FTTP plus copper phone line against FTTP with no phone line. I know it is a different product but the costs are in supplying and maintaining the infrastructure. The profit margin to the company comes from the calls made.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,541
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: SOGEA

Have just found this Thumbs_Up  so if i read correctly it not bad saving on cost

• SOGEA connection pricing of a premise currently served by an Openreach line will be aligned to MPF connection products re-using existing Left-In-Jumpers (currently priced at £11.24) + FTTC connection pricing

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2018/05/openreach-hints-at-sogea-uk-standalone-fttc-broadband-...

so if i understand correctly its £11.24 rather than £19.99 line rental

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,023
Thanks: 2,667
Fixes: 170
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: SOGEA

I don't think you are reading it correctly.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,556
Thanks: 968
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: SOGEA

That will be an ex-VAT price before any service providers mark-up...
Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!