cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PN Hostopia down?

decomplexity
Rising Star
Posts: 493
Thanks: 26
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

PN Hostopia down?

Today Sunday 15th June, all my Hostopia pages became inaccessible by browser or via HTTP calls.
But they were still accessible via FTP: I could download and upload pages.
Does anyone else have this problem?
Zen from May 17. PN Business account from 2004 - 2017
31 REPLIES 31
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Browser access to my Hostopia pages is working OK, including to dynamic content (PHP/MySQL). No problem with FTP access either.
David
decomplexity
Rising Star
Posts: 493
Thanks: 26
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Tnx Spraxyt
Everything points to Hostopia's Apache having forgotten about my domain name (which nevertheless appears in Hostopia's domain management panel).
Time for another ticket!
Zen from May 17. PN Business account from 2004 - 2017
Jaggies
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 27
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: PN Hostopia down?

@decomplexity
If you post the URL to your site we can check to see if it can be accessed from other Plusnet connections.
decomplexity
Rising Star
Posts: 493
Thanks: 26
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

The currently failing name is em-hunts.co.uk
Zen from May 17. PN Business account from 2004 - 2017
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Hi decomplexity
This is what I am seeing
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,154
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Snap
Quote
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access / on this server.

I went to your site with using NTL / Virgin Media
I went to mine what still has PlusNet's Holding Page on it what works.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,895
Thanks: 2,498
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Quote from: decomplexity
Everything points to Hostopia's Apache having forgotten about my domain name...

It certainly looks that way and I've a similar problem affecting one of my own domains, I've reached out to Hostopia for comment and updated your support ticket.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Jaggies
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 27
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Works here.
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: PN Hostopia down?

I can confirm that it is also now, working here, (Albeit it took approx 10 - 15 seconds to load)
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,895
Thanks: 2,498
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Hostopia have applied a fix but it's not desirable. I've chucked some additional info on your open support ticket. Thanks for bearing with me.
Oh, and thanks a million for your fundraising donation, it's much appreciated Smiley

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Penny
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 968
Thanks: 513
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Quote from: decomplexity
all my Hostopia pages became inaccessible by browser or via HTTP calls.
Does anyone else have this problem?

... didn't before, but might have, now.  Just noticed that the visit counters weren't displaying on the site here (the webpages are on homepages but the counters are on ccgi at Hostopia).
So I went looking to see if the other Hostopia-hosted stuff (as relates to the site) was working - none of the counters are visible, the stats pages are showing 404s (not found), and the 'subscribe page' for the site Newsletter - located here (on Hostopia) - is saying "The website cannot display the page HTTP 500" .
This has come at a really bad time as we're just in the process of sending out a Newsletter (first for ages) which asks subscribers to update their preferences (the preferences page gets a 500 as well).
Is anyone else having issues currently with displays of Hostopia-hosted stuff?
Penny Rollo * Force 9 from 17/02/98 * PlusNet from 2000 onwards
Project HappyChild - free maths worksheets, free French-English
worksheets and 12 other languages
personal site www.pennymidasrollo.plus.com
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,895
Thanks: 2,498
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

The cgi-bin in your root is empty Penny. This is where most of your content was isn't it? Huh

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Penny
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 968
Thanks: 513
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

Quote from: Bob
The cgi-bin in your root is empty ... This is where most of your content was isn't it? Huh

Just checked ... and it is indeed showing as empty.
Where's it all gone?
I hope hostopia are going to be able to fix this : /
Lost for words, really.
Penny Rollo * Force 9 from 17/02/98 * PlusNet from 2000 onwards
Project HappyChild - free maths worksheets, free French-English
worksheets and 12 other languages
personal site www.pennymidasrollo.plus.com
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,895
Thanks: 2,498
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: PN Hostopia down?

No idea. I've raised it with Hostopia (ref: 3299750). I'd hold fire on that newsletter send for the time being Undecided

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵