cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newsgroup not connecting

Muddymike
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2023

Newsgroup not connecting

Plusnet help staff are unable to work out why my connection to News.plus.net for newsgroups access fails to connect. It’s been working perfectly via Thunderbird for years, as far as I can see nothing has changed my end.
Plusnet technicians have admitted defeat and told me to seek an answer here.

Any ideas?
26 REPLIES 26
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,887
Thanks: 4,979
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

Are you connecting from the Plusnet network? e.g. not via a VPN or an external Internet connection. The service is IP authenticated.

Have you tried removing and recreating the news account in Thunderbird?

Exactly what is happening when you try and connect?

What happens if you open a command line window and try to connect to the server by doing: -

telnet news.plus.net 119

 

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Muddymike
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2023

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

I only use Plusnet I’ll try the command line test when next on my PC, no idea how or if I can do that from this iPhone!

Sometimes it connects but only message headers download, sometimes it doesn’t connect or download anything.
Mike
Muddymike0
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-03-2023

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

After many failed attempts I’ve at last managed to re register and access this forum.
I’ve tried posting the telnet thing in the command window on my pc but just get an error message saying telnet is not a recognised command. I’ve got a screenshot but can’t work out how to attach it here!
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,024
Thanks: 5,447
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

@Muddymike0 To insert the  screenshot into a post, select the icon to the right of the 'smiley' above the reply window, and follow instructions.

John
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,538
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

@Muddymike0 

How to enable telnet in windows https://www.makeuseof.com/enable-telnet-windows/  

HTH

 

Muddymike0
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-03-2023

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

I don’t have a smiley above the reply window. I have “Menu” but there’s no option in there to add an image! I’m connected using my iPhone.
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,024
Thanks: 5,447
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

Select the 'desktop' option - click the 'hamburger' to do so.

John
Muddymike0
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-03-2023

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

Tried following the instructions in your link but I get lots of warnings of it being unsafe so backed out.
Why is this necessary? I only want my newsgroups to work as they have for years!
Muddymike0
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-03-2023

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

Hamburger????
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,024
Thanks: 5,447
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

Very strange.  Can't explain the 'unsafe' warnings, so I'll back out and leave this to @Dan_the_Van 

John
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,024
Thanks: 5,447
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Newsgroup not connecting


@Muddymike0 wrote:
Hamburger????

OK. Which browser are you using on the phone? i use Firefox, it may be different if you are using Safari.

John
Muddymike0
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-03-2023

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

Safari
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,024
Thanks: 5,447
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

OK - in that case I have no idea - just looked and can't find an option to select the desktop site on there.

John
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,538
Thanks: 1,145
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Newsgroup not connecting

If you are looking to post the error message you got when trying telnet then I wouldn't bother as I've given you the answer.

The purpose of telnet is to confirm your pc can contact the newgroup server on port 119

Which version of windows are you using?

Snipping Tool is handy to take screenshots in Windows.