cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

Hey,

 

We've discovered that, what we assume, is an engineer sorting the next doors internet has done a botch job and plugged their cable into the unit mounted on our exterior wall. Their house has their own unit, but they've opened our unit plugged it in and left it all exposed and in a terrible state. I've attached pictures. It's the black cable that comes from their porch, across the fence and is plugged directly into our box. As you can see, the casing is open and on the floor, and there's exposed wiring.

 

Can anyone advise me on what's going on here and what I should do about it? Sometimes I think we have unexplained connection issues, but I can't be sure.

 

Thanks.

22 REPLIES 22
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 1,709
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

@rk1991 No promise this will work, but it's worth a try: 0800 023 2023 (option 1).

They should never do that, but I'm going to guess this work was carried out by a subcontractor, and they have been known to bodge jobs/cut corners.

John
Hero
Posts: 4,813
Thanks: 1,569
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

@rk1991 If there's no joy on the phone, there's a complaints form here:

 

https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/loadRaiseComplaint.do

Ω is where the is
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,417
Thanks: 4,345
Fixes: 1,113
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to Everything Else

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 553
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

@rk1991 As far as I know Openreach do not use any plug in connection on copper telephone circuits. That box looks like a virgin cable connection to me. I would suggest you get in touch with them There is phone junction box at the end of the black tube higher up the wall..

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 1,709
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

Now you mention it, @RealAleMadrid , you could be right - but why install the neighbours cable up the wall of the OPs property without permission, and leave a trailing cable?  And why disturb that (possibly) Virgin cable connection - again, without permission?

John
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 553
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

@jab1 Because they are cowboys.😁

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 1,709
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

@RealAleMadrid Correct, but that doesn't help @rk1991 . Will be interesting to see what reply he gets from OR.

John
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

I've finally found Virgin Medias live chat, so I've left all the information there awaiting response.

 

I'm inclined to go out there and just pull the cable my self, but I'm not sure what problems that may cause.

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 1,709
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

@rk1991 So are these BT cables or Virgin Medias', and who is your ISP? Something isn't quite fitting right here.

John
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

My other neighbour has said it's Virgin Media I should contact for our street, though he could be wrong. What's an ISP? 

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 1,709
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

ISP = Internet Service Provider. So who are you with Virgin or Plusnet?

John
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

Oh sorry, Plusnet.

 

Plusnet didn't have anything to do with this as far as I'm aware.

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 1,709
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

OK, but as has been pointed out, that box at the bottom of your picture looks like a Virgin Media connection. And Plusnet wouldn't have anything to do with it - it would be either Virgins installers or BTOR.

John
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Neighbours Cable is Plugged into our Exterior Unit

Does that change anything or is it still the same issue? Besides the terrible arrangement of the cables.