cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

McAfee/Norton

FIXED
DandD
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-10-2022

McAfee/Norton

Hi All,

Just booted up an old PC that I haven't used for a while. Installed Norton, which uninstalled McAfee, except it didn't. I still have about a dozen McAfee processes running and when I look at my installed programmes list McAfee isn't in there anywhere.

Any advice?

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,595
Thanks: 5,749
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: McAfee/Norton

@DandD I can't, off the top of my head, tell you where to look - probably on the McAfee site itself - but there should be an uninstaller tool which should have been run prior to installing Norton. AV programs (especially) don't like to be uninstalled.

John
DandD
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-10-2022

Re: McAfee/Norton

Yes, the uninstaller tool ran, but left a bunch of McAfee stuff on the computer. It's not actually in the way, but will they bill me for any of it now that it is' t part of Plusnet package?

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,917
Thanks: 5,310
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: McAfee/Norton


Moderators Note

This topic has been moved from Broadband to Everything Elsee

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,595
Thanks: 5,749
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: McAfee/Norton

Fix

No they won't bill you for it, but it would be good if you could remove it. As I said, there should be an uninstaller tool on the McAfee site which 'should' remove the detritus, but you may have to temporarily disable Norton whilst running it. I can't tell you more than that, as I (a) last uninstalled an AV program about ten years ago and (b) haven't used a M$ platform for a long time, so have no idea how they are set to perform any more.

John
Longliner
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 601
Thanks: 306
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎22-10-2014

Re: McAfee/Norton

@DandD 

Removing McAfee was a nightmare even 10 yrs ago ... I think I used Malwarebytes for some leftover bits but there is definitely a removal tool somewhere. Is your old machine W7 or will it take W10 with the free and excellent (so far) Windows Defender?

Mike

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,827
Thanks: 1,359
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: McAfee/Norton

You could try using these instructions

https://www.mcafee.com/support/?articleId=TS101331&page=shell&shell=article-view 

warning there a scammers possing as working for virus comapnies who promise to help with each and everything so take care if you search for assitance.

Dan

 

DandD
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-10-2022

Re: McAfee/Norton

Running the removal tool off McAfee website now. Slow, but seems to be working.

DandD
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-10-2022

Re: McAfee/Norton

Thanks guys.