Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MS Office 365 - Verify Domain for Email Setup

C6REW
Grafter

MS Office 365 - Verify Domain for Email Setup

Good morning all,
Looking for a little help. Need to let you know I have very little knowledge about these things so have been searching the web to learn how to get this far.
I am currently using Microsoft Exchange on an Office 365 small business account.
I want to add all of my email addresses to the same exchange account. This means I need to add my web site to the MS account.
Via the MS website I have started the process and have been told to go into my f9/plusnet account and add an 'Additional DNS record' so that MS can confirm we own the web site.
As some of you will be aware the choice that MS give us is either a 'TXT record' or an 'MX record'. The only compatible one for plusnet is an 'MX record'.
The information given by MS is as follows:
Priority: 32767
Host name: @
Points to address or value: msxxxxxxxx.msv1.invalid
TTL: 3600
In my plusnet account I have added the following information in a new 'Additional DNS record'
Left field: Left blank
Type: mx
Pri: 32767
Right field: msxxxxxxxx.msv1.invalid.
NOTE. I have added an additional full stop at the end as not only does plusnet suggest this, but a number of folks have said the same.
But I also found some saying that it is fairly straightforward to add a 'cname' record even though MS don't give you the information.
So, to be sure I have added the following as another 'Additional DNS record'
Left field: msxxxxxxxx
Type: cname
Pri: Left blank
Right field: ps.microsoftonline.com
The problem is, whilst MS says that it will take up to a couple of hours, others state it can take up to 72 hours. If this is the case, I want to make sure I have done this correctly.
Can anyone advise if I have done this correctly?
Should I keep the cname type in there or will it do any harm?