cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linking Domain to webspace?

svizan6
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎17-11-2007

Linking Domain to webspace?

Hi, I've just bought a domain and im wondering if it's possible to link my webspace to the domain and if so how?
Thanks.  Smiley
7 REPLIES 7
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,338
Thanks: 3,311
Fixes: 505
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Linking Domain to webspace?

Who did you buy the domain with?

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 87.0 (64-bit)

svizan6
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎17-11-2007

Re: Linking Domain to webspace?

Quote from: Strat
Who did you buy the domain with?

Dynadot
www.dynadot.com
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Linking Domain to webspace?

You need to arrange for the domain to be hosted on your plusnet account. Then you can use it with your webspace.
See the help & support pages related to domain hosting here.
Note: you want to just host the domain not transfer it as transferring means PN will bill you for the domain when it expires and they are very expensive compared to many dedicated domain registration companies.
svizan6
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎17-11-2007

Re: Linking Domain to webspace?

Thanks, So I would be charged 15 pounds to do this with a .com domain?
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Linking Domain to webspace?

No, registration and payment remains where it is. You just need to arrange to HOST the domain on your account, which is free, not transfer it to PlusNet.
You do this by changing the name servers on the domain to PlusNet's ones (see the help pages)  and when that has changed, raise a ticket and ask for the domain to be hosted on your account. The help pages explain this.
The_10th
Grafter
Posts: 1,093
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎08-04-2007

Re: Linking Domain to webspace?

Quote from: svizan6
... im wondering if it's possible to link my webspace to the domain and if so how? ...

You may wish to reconsider since this / and this happened?  Roll_eyes
svizan6
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎17-11-2007

Re: Linking Domain to webspace?

Ok, i've sort of worked it out now but im not sure what to do on the side of my Hosting company. Here is a screenshot of the settings page, what should I be entering and where? It appears that it gives 2 options, one is for actually doing as described above and the other is some sort of Masking(the Forwarding section)?Huh
Is it necessary to have them transferred if I can just Stealth Forward the domain so the result is my Plus webspace? Or do both that and the 'Name servers' need to be entered?
PIC: http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/5293/dnsmv1.png
Thanks.