cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joomla anyone?

hulls
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Joomla anyone?

Hi
I'd like to update the web site I'm responsible for ( http://www.chelmsfordsongsters.org.uk) and I heard someone talking about Joomla.  Does anyone know about it or use it?  Is it any good?  Is it easy?  can just upload to my PN space as I do at the moment?
John
5 REPLIES 5
techguy
Grafter
Posts: 2,540
Registered: ‎12-09-2008

Re: Joomla anyone?

Hi John
http://www.joomla.org/ might help you out.
I doubt very much though you will be able to use it if you are hosting the site on your webspace because it is a content managemrnt system and would probably need full access to the server which obviously with webspace on a shared server you don't have
However I'm not a web designer so don't know for sure.
Looks an interesting site and it looks like you've done a cracking job already.
All the best
hulls
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Joomla anyone?

Thanks Techguy
I wondered maybe if I activated SQL and loaded the files into that space, it would let me set up the site.
I suppose I could set up it up on my own computer to try it out, but I don't think I want to set my desktop up as a server (it sounds a bit scary to be honest  :-[)
I've never done any of this type of programming before, so it's very new to me.
John
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,877
Thanks: 2,478
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Joomla anyone?

IIRC, I've set it up on the Plunet CGI space before, although if the newer versions require PHP5 then you might be out of luck. You might want to consider moving your site to our new hosting platform.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

allanassociates
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎13-02-2009

Re: Joomla anyone?

Please can you tell me how to get rid of this error message when going to the back end of my Joomla web site http://www.allanassociates.net/administrator - The front end appears ok at www.allanasociates.net
CCGI Error: Execution of this script not permitted
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Execution of (administrator/index.php) is not permitted for the following reason:

Script is not executable. Issue 'chmod 755 filename'
Server Data:
Server Administrator/Contact: support@plus.net
Server Name: www.allanassociates.net
Server Port: 80
Server Protocol: HTTP/1.1
Virtual Host: www.allanassociates.net
Request Data:
User Agent/Browser: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648)
Request Method: GET
Remote Address:
Remote Port: 30704
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,877
Thanks: 2,478
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Joomla anyone?

This might help.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵