cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full Fibre digital voice

MalcolmS
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎18-11-2023

Full Fibre digital voice

I have BT Full Fibre (no separate copper wire landline) with a digital voice phone. If I move to Plusnet Full Fibre is this included in the package price and if so do I keep the same phone number? If it isn’t included how much extra does it cost to have it added?
19 REPLIES 19
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,401
Thanks: 5,321
Fixes: 383
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

Plusnet don't provide a Digital voice service. 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

MalcolmS
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎18-11-2023

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

Thank you for your help. Does this mean I have to stick with BT if I want to retain a landline number? We have a couple of elderly relatives that will never call our mobile numbers.
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,525
Thanks: 5,128
Fixes: 414
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

@MalcolmS 

No. If you shop around you will find that most ISPs can provide this service.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

RobPN
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,096
Thanks: 2,660
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

@MalcolmS 

Or you could port your BT number to a third party VoIP provider and move your FTTP service to PN if that is your preferred ISP.

If you look around the forums you'll find plenty of threads covering porting your number to VoIP.

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,148
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

@MalcolmS 

You can also seperate the VOIP service from your Internet service by using an independant provider. There are many to choose from. You might have a few days down time when you port your number.

 

A&A seem to offer a good deal and have a good FAQ page on VOIP.

https://www.aa.net.uk/voice-and-mobile/voip-information/

 

Brian

Scholar1
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎23-11-2023

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

I moved my FTTC/landline package from BT to Plusnet in August. As you can see from the photo below the new Plusnet router I was sent has a phone socket covered by a Digital Voice Customers only sticker. Was this part of a plan that was not carried through, or is it there for some other reason. Is there any reason why a similar router could not be supplied for Full Fibre.

 

Plusnet Digital Voice RouterPlusnet Digital Voice Router

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,671
Thanks: 5,259
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

As the BT/Plusnet/EE Hubs are all basically the same inside - just different 'packaging', they are designed for the BT 'Digital Voice' product, which the PN brand does not support, hence the cover.

John
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,465
Thanks: 6,621
Fixes: 1,482
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Full Fibre digital voice


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Full Fibre to Everything Else

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,697
Thanks: 1,379
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

@Scholar1 The socket is there because the HUB2 is the Plusnet version of a BT router and uses the same hardware, however at the present time Plusnet are not offering any digital voice (VOIP) phone service with their Broadband products. The phone socket is non-functional and there is no indication that Plusnet's policy will change. They are seen as the budget brand of the group.

As has already been stated you can set up a 3rd party VOIP service if required.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,525
Thanks: 5,128
Fixes: 414
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Full Fibre digital voice


@Scholar1 wrote:

..... Is there any reason why a similar router could not be supplied for Full Fibre.


You can certainly buy a third party router with a built in ATA (analogue telephone adapter), Frtzbox comes to mind as one. Alternativwly you can get a digital IP phone or stand alone ATA that plugs into your router.

However, as has been suggested, there is much more to providing a digital phone service than providing a router with a working ATA. Unfortunately, Plusnet have decided not to enter this market. If you look through the Tech Help board you will see many posts relating to alternative third party suppliers of a digital VoIP phone service.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,671
Thanks: 5,259
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Full Fibre digital voice


@Baldrick1 wrote:

However, as has been suggested, there is much more to providing a digital phone service than providing a router with a working ATA. Unfortunately, Plusnet have decided not to enter this market. If you look through the Tech Help board you will see many posts relating to alternative third party suppliers of a digital VoIP phone service.


@Baldrick1 What you should have said is: Unfortunately, BT Consumer has decided that the Plusnet brand will not enter this market.

John
Hrossey
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-12-2023

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

In the last month or two they have installed FTTP down my road in a remote rural location under the Scottish Government R100 scheme, I qualify for a voucher worth up to £5000 to have FTTP put into my house. I just pass the voucher to my ISP when I apply (the guys installing the fibre reckoned it would cost about £2k to put mine in) . The fibre isn't live yet but should be in very soon (next 2 - 3 months). I have registered with openreach to be informed when its available. At the moment I am on a fairly long copper line right back to the exchange, but have quite a decent signal due to them replacing much of the line back when I had Home Highway (ISDN). I have been with PlusNET/Force 9 since 1998. I plan to go onto the PlusNet 145Mb FTTP and want to use Digital Voice with it but understand Plusnet do not offer this service. I understand from posts on here that BT will only do Digital Voice on BT Broadband? I also do not intend to use a PN router, I always use Draytek Vigors. Unfortunately the router I have at the moment only does ADSL and FTTC, so I will have to upgrade to a G.Fast one.

I have no experience of Digital Voice at the moment and what I wanted to know is can you get WiFi digital phones that connect to your router and Devolo home plugs or do you have to have something plugged into the router?

I hope my ramblings make sense to someone on here!

Nearly forgot, I also have my phone line with plusnet and would like to keep my number.

Nodigitalvoice
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-01-2024

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

I cannot believe Plusnet not offering digital voice even though there is a socket for a phone in the back of the router

They are making me sign up and pay another company to supply a house phone this is disgraceful service.

I am now 5 months into a new 2-year contract and seems I cannot get released from my contract as they are breaking it with discontinued phone service I demand a transfer to BT Digital Voice as a minimum service to keep my phone service.

I have written to my MP on this matter but I expect no decent treatment from this company.

 

 

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,401
Thanks: 5,321
Fixes: 383
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Full Fibre digital voice

@Nodigitalvoice 

I cannot believe Plusnet not offering digital voice even though there is a socket for a phone in the back of the router

Digital voice is not as simple as just having a socket on the Hub. It needs infrastructure and support for DV as well as firmware in the Hub to support it. PN have decided that, since many people dont require a landline service, it is not economical to put all that in place.

as they are breaking it with discontinued phone service

Sorry, where are Plusnet discontinuing the phone service on existing contracts ? Unless something has changed VERY recently AFAIK people can still recontract on their existing product if it includes a phone service (until Openreach drop the PSTN in 2025? ) only new contracts on a different product can not include a phone line.

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.