cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does Plusnet support phpBB3 ?

Robtheplod
Grafter
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎17-08-2007

Does Plusnet support phpBB3 ?

Just wondering if Plusnet support the requirements of phpBB3, and if any users have upgraded their forums to this on Plusnet servers yet - what was your experience of doing this - good/bad?Huh
thanks!!!
rob
6 REPLIES 6
MikeWhitehead
Grafter
Posts: 748
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Re: Does Plusnet support phpBB3 ?

Yep, just had a look glance at the phpBB3 requirements list and everything seems good to go Smiley
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Does Plusnet support phpBB3 ?

I know that at least one customer has phpbb3 currrently active on the cgi space so it shouldn't be a problem.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Does Plusnet support phpBB3 ?

I had phpBB3 RC3, 4 & 5 running - forums worked fine but gave up as each one got hijacked and pointed to Turkish site.
Currently running http://www.php-fusion.co.uk/news.php which has survived since 18th Sept.
Robtheplod
Grafter
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎17-08-2007

Re: Does Plusnet support phpBB3 ?

i just uploaded the phpBB-3.0.RC5.tar.bz2 and attempted to extract it using the 'tar' command, but it says it's not a gzip file - can't now see a gzip version on phpBB.com ?? sure they used to be???
MikeWhitehead
Grafter
Posts: 748
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Re: Does Plusnet support phpBB3 ?

There's a bz2 tar of phpBB RC5, is that any good to you?
http://downloads.sourceforge.net/phpbb/phpBB-3.0.RC5.tar.bz2?download
Robtheplod
Grafter
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎17-08-2007

Re: Does Plusnet support phpBB3 ?

that's what i used - not sure if these days i need to .zip and do it all manually?? anyone got any experience of this? cheers!!!