cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

tdliedtke
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2021

Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

I am currently unable to send emails to hotmail.com addresses either using Outlook client or Plusnet webmail. Apparently Plusnet is blocked:

Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550 5.7.1 Unfortunately, messages from [84.93.230.244] weren't sent. Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list (S3140)

8 REPLIES 8
PhilipHeyes
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,094
Thanks: 395
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎10-11-2021

Re: Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

This is a problem that has persisted for well over 12 months and is covered in extreme detail in other threads.

If your email a/c has migrated to Greenby try sending via SMTP mail.enmail.co ( the out bound mail server ).

Or via Greenby webmail  https://webmail.greenby.com/

kenm
Rising Star
Posts: 118
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎03-07-2014

Re: Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

Whenever i have tried to log in on that address

It always fails with Greenby , its always pre- filled in but still get LOGIN FAILED

Screenshot att

PhilipHeyes
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,094
Thanks: 395
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎10-11-2021

Re: Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

Prefilled by your browser with invalid credentials by the look of it.

The Username should be the email address.   
Not  <account>+<name> and not an Alias.

tdliedtke
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2021

Re: Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

When using Greenby webmail I get this error when trying to send: SMTP Error 535, Authentication failed. I guess my account hasn't been migrated yet fully

pvmb
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,514
Thanks: 417
Fixes: 15
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Re: Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

@tdliedtke 

"Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550 5.7.1 Unfortunately, messages from [84.93.230.244] weren't sent. Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list (S3140)"

avasout-ptp-003.plus.net [84.93.230.244]

Here we go again! 😵

https://mxtoolbox.com/SuperTool.aspx [84.93.230.244]

We notice you are on a blacklist.

                        Blacklist          Reason                            
Status Problem LISTED - Anonmails  DNSBL - 84.93.230.244 was listed  - 1800 - 5

https://anonmails.de/dnsbl.php

It's always (pretty well) the same people. Why?

Blacklist Status

"The IP 84.93.230.244 is listed in spam.dnsbl.anonmails.de since Sat, 14 Mar 26 15:22:22 +0100 because of sending spam.
The entry will be removed automatically from the blacklist in the next 24 hours after the last spam email has been detected.
Spam hits: 23"

Me: "Again! Why? This is continually interfering with legitimate email operations for a UK ISP."

Them (automatically): "The IP address will be removed soon."

I do not know if being blacklisted by this site carries over into blocking by major email companies or not but, IMO, someone (at Plusnet or BT) needs to officially find out what is going on here.

Contact (anonmails.de)

Anschrift:
Chi Kien Uong
Geranienstr. 30
71034 Böblingen
Deutschland
E-Mail: [email protected]

kenm
Rising Star
Posts: 118
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎03-07-2014

Re: Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

I dont know what it is never worked pops up occassionally but i never filled it in but they are the same as i use to login to Greenby

I log in on main Greenby page all dark green with orange login box.

As for hotmail and Icloud addresses i gave up sending to them ages ago and opened an Aol account so i didnt have to PHONE my sister and cousin to ask if they had got my Greenby email , answered no,   good job i have a mobile phone ! thats progress 

MG56
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎05-04-2021

Re: Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

The error message that comes back from failed sends to hotmail accounts has been updated by Microsoft and refers you to this web page: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/outlook/fix-ndr-error-550-5-7-515-in-outlook-com 

Why are the techs responsible for managing the email services unable to apply the fix that Microsoft requires on the totalise domain?

AyToZed
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎16-02-2026

Re: Unable to send to hotmail.com addresses

If that blacklist is being used by the receiving e-mail service then they may have a valid reason. (Or think they have). A blacklist in and of itself does not do any blocking; it has to be used by a mail service. It likely publically declares the reason(s) for why the address was listed, and how a delisting can be requested or when a delisting will occur.

Alternatively the receiving e-mail service may have their own spam detection/blocking system and be blocking incoming e-mails based on their own crieria. If so, then they'll likely not publicly disclose reasons.

C'est la vie. (And thank the spammers).

 

(On blocklists, if memory serves me correctly Plusnet used Spamhaus. Corrections accepted if I'm wrong).