cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Metronet - Intermittent "exceeded maximum cached connections" issue

pwberry
Dabbler

Metronet - Intermittent "exceeded maximum cached connections" issue

Apologies if this has been raised before,  can't find it.  Intermittently (but frequently, 3 or 4 times a day) - I'm getting a "could not connect" message,  telling me that I've exceed the the maximum number of cached connections to the server,  and suggesting I reduce them in settings (Thunderbird).  So I've reduced the maximum - right down to one,  to no effect.  Happens completely at random on any device I use,  Thunderbird or otherwise, including iPhone (on the latter,  I just get a helpful "there was an error" message).  The problem goes away of its own accord after half an hour or so.   I'm not a techie - something getting stuck at the PN end? 

Presumably just part of the increasing flakiness of metronet - i really should move on but it would be right a bummer as I was one of the original MN signups, back in God-knows-when,  and the thought of decades-worth of unravelling just makes my head hurt. 

4 REPLIES 4
LaurenB
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 131

Re: Metronet - Intermittent "exceeded maximum cached connections" issue

Hiya @pwberry, thanks for getting in touch.

I'm sorry that you're having some issues with your emails and for the frustration this causes!

When did the issue start? Do you have a large amount of emails in the inbox? If you log in via webmail, do you get similar errors?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lauren Barry
 Plusnet Help Team
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

Interesting - a scenario I have never encountered ... but I have neve used Thunderbird.