cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Imap and spam filter training query

Kwak
Rising Star

Imap and spam filter training query

At one point we could forward emails to train the plusnet spam filter. I'm GUESSING using the webmail would also do it (mark not spam / is spam etc is connect to the plusnet systems, well at least that's way I'd have it wired!).

I'm wondering ..  if I'm using imap and Thunderbird, and I see a mail that's spam .. and mark it as junk in TB then move to spam folder, does either of these "train" the plusnet spam filter? I'm guessing the marking just affects Thunderbird's spam filter, but does dragging into the spam folder train the Plusnet filter?

Also, same in reverse, does, in imap, moving a valid email from spam to inbox help "train" the PN spam filter?

17 REPLIES 17
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 253

Re: Imap and spam filter training query

@Kwak I'm not an expert on this, especially where you use IMAP, but my suggestion would be to check and move (mark) the mail  as required in webmail FIRST, before downloading to TB - I do this in a slightly convoluted manner as mail is first checked in MailWasher, and spam marked as such in webmail - BEFORE being downloaded to TB - seems to work OK that way.

John
Baldrick1
Fixes: 417

I use. POP3 account with another provider and do my own spam filtering so don’t know. As one person’s spam is another’s useful information I would question whether every user has a programmable spam filter or whether there’s only one general filter for all users.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend