cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error message when sending from PlusNet

FIXED
KnitGal61
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-10-2022

Error message when sending from PlusNet

Hello,

I recently set up a new laptop - email to & from PlusNet, Hotmail & Googlemail all worked.  However, within the past few days my outgoing emails via Plusnet are being bounced back with this Send error message from Windows:

We weren't able to send this message, so we've put it in your Drafts folder. Before you try sending it again, you can check to see if the address is correct and that no attachments are too large.

In all instances the addresses were correct and there were no attachments.  Emails are still coming in to my PlusNet account.  I sent my messages via Hotmail instead - all worked OK.

I checked my PlusNet settings - the Outgoing relay.plus.net had a 3-digit number beginning with a 4 I think (it was not the recommended setting according to PlusNet's info, just the one that appeared when I set things up).  I changed this number to 587 (the recommended one) - still same problem.  There was another number suggested - 25 - again, made no difference.  I have put it back to 587 and turned the router off & on again.  No difference.

As stated above I still have email options but would be grateful for advice/ideas to get my outgoing PlusNet emails to their intended destinations.   Can't figure out what Windows (I have Windows 11) does not like which is causing it not to deliver.

Thanks in advance,

Rose

 

18 REPLIES 18
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,720
Thanks: 5,758
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

@KnitGal61 Which email client are you using that is causing the issue?

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,943
Thanks: 5,322
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

@KnitGal61  Welcome to the Community forum.

The outgoing port is 587 and STARTTLS protocol enabled, see https://www.plus.net/help/email-guides/how-to-set-up-plusnet-email/

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

KnitGal61
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-10-2022

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

Hello John,

This is where I'm going to sound like a total dimwit - it's the one with a blue envelope icon with a white sheet inside, labelled Mail... Microsoft's, I guess.    

Sorry, I lost interest in (or, rather, became totally bewildered by) anything post-WindowsXP!

Regards,

Rose

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,943
Thanks: 5,322
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

Sounds like Windows mail.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

KnitGal61
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-10-2022

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

Thanks, Baldrick.

The link is the page I was looking at already and had used when setting up my mail when I first got the laptop.  Reading further down the page I see they mention the number "465" for if the client doesn't support STARTTLS - that may be the one that I saw before I started changing to 587, etc.  

It was several weeks ago when I got things set up and things worked fine.   I've just seen you've sent me another message... hang on, let me read...

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,720
Thanks: 5,758
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

That's what I am thinking @Baldrick1 - and from what I have heard, for it to work with Plusnet, you have to use the manual set-up procedure as auto-configure makes some incorrect assumptions. Unfortunately, I've never used M$ mail programs after the original Outlook Express, so although I've seen this type of issue reported and sorted in the past, I don't remember the details.

John
KnitGal61
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-10-2022

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

Hi John & Baldrick,

I've been notified of a message from Baldrick which starts "KnitGal61, there's something going on...." but the link doesn't take me to the rest of the message so I'm none the wiser.  I've seen John's response to it which doesn't sound too hopeful.

Baldrick, can you tell me what was in your earlier message please...

THanks,

Rose

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,720
Thanks: 5,758
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

@KnitGal61 As I said, its a long time since I used (or even set up) a Windows email client, but are you able to post a screenshot of your settings (obscuring your email address, of course)? It is much easier to try and help if we have a clear idea of what we are looking at.

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,943
Thanks: 5,322
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet


@KnitGal61 wrote:

Baldrick, can you tell me what was in your earlier message please..


From me? Everything I’ve consciously sent is posted above.

I agree with @jab1  I have always set up email accounts manually, though I have never used Windows Mail.

I use the version of Outlook that is packaged with Microsoft Office but for a free email client I would recommend Thunderbird.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

KnitGal61
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-10-2022

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

Thanks, John,

I've attempted a screen cap, took a while to find the option to save as JPG. I used to be quite good at this IT stuff... you wouldn't know it these days!

I see that there's a box left unticked and I'm wondering if ticking it might sort things - but it doesn't explain why things have been working fine and now don't...

I know the 3-digit number is reading 465 but I was just trying it out again, since 587 is PlusNet's recommended option.

Kind regards,

Rose

 

KnitGal61
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-10-2022

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

Just had another one with the same opening line... but it links to John's previous message.  All very weird.

 

 

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,943
Thanks: 5,322
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

Fix

@KnitGal61 

Right, you need to tick the Outgoing server requires authentication box.

If the protocol you choose is STARTTLS then you use port 587. If that’s not available use SSL/TLS and port 465

Edit.

Have you tried just adding the tick to see what happens as you are using SSL.
I’ve just looked through you screen grab and to be honest am now totally confused as to why the server name includes the port. Is there a manual setting page that you are not showing us? 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,720
Thanks: 5,758
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

OK, Rose - think I  may have spotted some possible issues there. (1) The server 'boxes' shouldn't have the port numbers in them - only the text. (2) The 'Outgoing server requires authentication' and the 'Use the...' box below it can safely both be ticked, although the 'use the' is not essential unless you are away from your home connection, but it never hurts to enable it.

Try modifying them, and see what happens.

John
KnitGal61
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-10-2022

Re: Error message when sending from PlusNet

Hello again, John & Baldrick!

I have just successfully sent myself a message to my Hotmail account.  And another to a 3rd party.  Neither were returned as an error, and both are residing in my Sent folder.

I ticked the box, but I left the 465 where it was, as you can see from the attached pic.

The words & numbers have always appeared the way they are shown.  I don't have a clear memory of when I set up other than selecting mail.plus.net & relay.plus.net - the numbers cropped up automatically I think in that format.  

I have no idea as to why/how the box became unticked (if it ever was ticked in the first place - I refer back to my statement about not having a clear memory of events).   Anyway, I'm glad it was a ludicrously simple fix - maybe if I'd had a bit more confidence I could have arrived there all by myself.  But seriously BIG THANKS to you both for your time & advice - very much appreciated!

Have a good weekend,

Kind regards,

Rose