cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Emails to GMail accounts being rejected

iainmackay
Dabbler

Emails to GMail accounts being rejected

I am getting what appear to be similar rejections to some that have been reported in other posts, when sending to gmail addresses.  The message suggests this is something to do with verification issues mentioned in other posts (e.g. https://community.plus.net/t5/Email/Blank-Error-Message/td-p/1859134  from Feb 2022), and I am wondering if my practice of using the "sent from" option in desktop Outlook is causing this issue.  The message I'm getting:  2023-05-17 (2).png

Like some other users whose posts I've seen, I have been using my Force9 account for many years to send and receive emails for a domain I use, that doesn't have a .f9.co.uk name.  Emails to that domain are all forwarded to my Force9 address, and I send via relay.force9.net.  In my cases, the rejecting server appears to belong to Plusnet, I assume as part of the AV system, but the fact that this is only just happening suggests to me that something has changed.  The incompletely-formed error text is also a puzzle.  Can anyone help?

33 REPLIES 33
pjmarsh
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 20

Re: Emails to GMail accounts being rejected

@iainmackay, the rejecting server is the one you've blanked out.  The Plusnet server that is listed is the reporting server.  ie Plusnet server has created a connection to the one that is blanked out and sent it some info.  That other server has then rejected the message.  It is then for that other server (the Plusnet one listed in this case) to report that back to you.

The issue is that Google have made changes so that at least some of the messages have are rejected if there isn't SPF or DKIM records present.

One "solution", as detailed above, is to create an SPF record for your domain.