cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email Problem.

elkieluca
Grafter

Email Problem.

I have been using Thunderbird email for a few years and its never been a problem until now.  I can't get it to open on my computer but it opens fine on my ipad and iphone.  When I try to load it it gives me   Error status OX0000006 and then it says Couldn't Load  XPCOM.  I don't understand this at all and wonder if anyone could please help me.  Thanks.

28 REPLIES 28
dave501
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 6

Re: Email Problem.

Can you tell me if Thunderbird is installed on you’re computer or do you use a web browser to access Thunderbird - if it’s a web browser which one plz?

elkieluca
Grafter

I use Chrome .  I don’t  know much about computers I’m afraid.  

dave501
Aspiring Pro

just had a quick look on the Thunderbird forum, the error you're seeing XPCOM would appear to be associated with Firefox web browser but you say you're using Chrome as you're web browser?

elkieluca
Grafter

Yes definitely Chrome and I use it in my iPad as well.  

elkieluca
Grafter

Do you know if I were to uninstall Thunderbird and then reinstall it would it also uninstall on my iPad, as I’m afraid I’ll lose it altogether if I do that and that’s how my family get in touch with me. 

dave501
Aspiring Pro

Uninstalling Chrome browser on your computer will not affect any apps/programs installed on your other devices, your Thunderbird emails are stored on a web server.

From what I can gather, the XPCOM error you’re seeing can happen when a failed browser update occurs, this leaves a mixture of old and updated files in the browser program folder.

It can be caused when security software is keeping a handle of some of the files stored in the browser program folder preventing the files from updating.

This issue would normally be fixed with a clean browser reinstall that also involves deleting the existing browser program folder.