cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quick edit not working under FF?

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: 08-06-2007

Quick edit not working under FF?

Just tried to edit one of my own posts using "quick edit".
It brought up the edit screen, but when I hit "Save" my post was not changed at all.
Tried refreshing, clearing cache etc - no joy.
Using Firefox 2.0.0.6.
B.
28 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Let me try. I think it works for me.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Modify does.  Quick edit doen't.  I'll let Colin know.
Liam
Grafter
Posts: 2,083
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Brings up a green bar that says "Loading", but doesn't load anything? 
Then the edit doesn't save.
Hmm...
Loombucket
Grafter
Posts: 314
Registered: 09-06-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Interesting...
I was just about to post this problem having experienced it myself a couple of times when I saw this thread.
FYI, it doesn't appear to be version-dependent - two of my machines run FF 2.0, the other runs FF 1.5 and they all do it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Firebug on FF2 show an error

element has no properties
getInnerHTML(null)script.js (line 268)
onDocReceived_modify(Document )xml_topic.js (line 78)
onreadystatechange()script.js (line 36)
[Break on this error] if (typeof(element.innerHTML) != 'undefined')

So may be browser related javascript problem.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,906
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 4
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

added to bugs list.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

I run IE 7 and the same problem applies
John
Simon_M
Grafter
Posts: 684
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

I take it that this is still somewhere on the bugs list?
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Quote from: Simon
I take it that this is still somewhere on the bugs list ?

http://community.plus.net/bugs/ or click the bugs link at the top of the page Wink
Simon_M
Grafter
Posts: 684
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Hmm. Ok, I assume you two have your tongues firmly in your cheeks.  Undecided
Let me be a little more specific.
In response to:
Quote from: Kelly
added to bugs list.

I take it this is still on Plusnet's internal bugs list? Has an assessment been made as to whether it's fixable? Is a fix in a work schedule? If it's going to be a long time or require significant resource, is it an easy job to remove the option from the screen until it can be made to work properly?
It must be very frustrating for new users to keep trying it & finding that they can't seem to get it to work.
26/09/07 Quick edited to prove it now works.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Doesn't seem to work under safari either...
MikeWhitehead
Grafter
Posts: 748
Registered: 19-08-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

http://modxcms.com/forums/index.php/topic,12782.msg87572.html#msg87572
That's apparently a fix for it. Maybe one of the PN staff can have a skim over the post, test it on the beta forum and see if it fixes the problem?
EDIT: Just noticed this is for MODx, so don't know what I was thinking Tongue
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,906
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 4
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

It's a bug Tam introduced when he was tweaking something with look and feel.
MikeWhitehead
Grafter
Posts: 748
Registered: 19-08-2007

Re: Quick edit not working under FF?

Bad Tam! No dinner for a month Tongue