Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accessability anomoly

MauriceC
Resting Legend
Fixes: 17

Accessability anomoly

Browsing through the 'Forum' page on the track of something else, I tripped over the following issue.

All of the 'plusnet burple' board icons on the Left hand Side have the same 'Title' - "Message Board" and 'Alt' text - "There are no unread messages in this message board".  All of the buttons have the correct href to take the User to the correct Board destination.  The Title is misleading, but the Alt text is just wrong and misleading.

I'm no expert on Screen Reader software, but I think the code needs a bit of TLC to help make the site more accessible.

M

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

11 REPLIES 11
MauriceC
Resting Legend

Re: Accessability anomoly

Did this post get reviewed?

M

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Anotherone
Champion
Fixes: 21

Sorry Maurice I saw it the other day and didn't have time to look at it. It's on my list for later.

Anotherone
Champion
Fixes: 21

Well I can certainly see the Purple Icons all have the very informative title "Message Board" Roll_eyes we'll have to see if we can get that changed. Screen readers are certainly not my forte, maybe about time I learnt something about them.
Where do you get this 'Alt' text? I can't seem to find that Embarrassed

MauriceC
Resting Legend

@Anotherone wrote:

Where do you get this 'Alt' text? I can't seem to find that Embarrassed

Using the FF code inspector?

M

jaread83
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 81