cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Protect

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 15,171
Thanks: 458
Fixes: 126
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Plusnet Protect

Hi again everyone,
It's a big day for Plusnet today with several new exciting launches taking place.
The next one we're proud to tell you about is Plusnet Protect.
We've teamed up with McAfee to provide our own internet security offering. This will include amongst other things antivirus, anti-spyware and firewall services and will be included for for free to all Extra and Pro customers. This will be available to Value, Essential , Broadband Your Way Option 1 or Unlimited customers for just £2 per month.
Please see the blog and FAQ posted here and let us know what you think!
http://community.plus.net/blog/2010/10/06/stay-safe-online-with-plusnet-protect/
Adam.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
44 REPLIES 44
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

For the third time of asking
Which version of McAfee Security Suite are you offering and is it the actual suite or a Plusnet version of it
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,566
Thanks: 4,418
Fixes: 1,128
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet Protect

Also why on unlimited do you have to pay?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

Also, I notice that there's no mention of the fact that Premium customers have to pay too. (Which I don't understand, because the price-per-GB of Premium is higher than Extra, so surely that product actually produces a little more profit than Extra…)
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

Quote
Which version of McAfee Security Suite are you offering and is it the actual suite or a Plusnet version of it

Let me try and find the answer to that.
Quote
Also why on unlimited do you have to pay?

It'll be the way the product and package economics have been worked out. Unfortunately I'm not privy to those conversations so can't go into detail.
Quote
Also, I notice that there's no mention of the fact that Premium customers have to pay too.

Getting this clarified too.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Grafter
Posts: 1,220
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-04-2009

Re: Plusnet Protect

PLusnet Protect sounds like a new brand of condom Cheesy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,566
Thanks: 4,418
Fixes: 1,128
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet Protect

Quote from: Chris
Quote
Also why on unlimited do you have to pay?

It'll be the way the product and package economics have been worked out. Unfortunately I'm not privy to those conversations so can't go into detail.

Thanks Chris, from a customer point of view it does seem a little odd.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

Quote
Which version of McAfee Security Suite are you offering and is it the actual suite or a Plusnet version of it

It's a white-label version of the suite specially for Plusnet, the features can be found here: http://community.plus.net/blog/2010/10/06/stay-safe-online-with-plusnet-protect/ with some more information on how to use it here: http://www.plus.net/support/security/spam/plusnet_protect_user_guide.shtml
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Community Veteran
Posts: 20,523
Thanks: 2,988
Fixes: 44
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

So.... Daft question time.....
Is this any better than AVIRA/AVAST/AVG FREE ?  etc......   Roll_eyes
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

Never had a problem with AVG Free that I've used for many years  Smiley
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 15,171
Thanks: 458
Fixes: 126
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

Quote
So.... Daft question time.....
Is this any better than AVIRA/AVAST/AVG FREE

Why not give them both a try Shutter and let us know how they compare from your point of view.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

Quote
It's a white-label version of the suite specially for Plusnet, the features can be found here: http://community.plus.net/blog/2010/10/06/stay-safe-online-with-plusnet-protect/ with some more information on how to use it here: http://www.plus.net/support/security/spam/plusnet_protect_user_guide.shtml
That doesn't answer the question
Looking here http://home.mcafee.com/store/PackageDetail.aspx?pkgid=272 there are two products Internet Security 2010 and Total Protection 2010 and from your description I assume that it is Internet Protection which you are offering but then the next question is which version 2010. 2011 or even 2009 or earlier amd whether it includes Artemis in-the-cloud technology
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,791
Thanks: 271
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Plusnet Protect

I assume that this is an OPT IN service?
I for one will not be selecting it, I have no need for a package like that on any of my pc's nor do I want it forced on me.
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

It's entirely optional.  If it's available on your account you can download it free from the portal - or sign up for £2/month.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,291
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎10-08-2007

Re: Plusnet Protect

McAfee, are you kidding? £2.00 per month ..per computer?