cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTP access to CGI site.

doktorsteve
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎19-03-2013

FTP access to CGI site.

I enabled CGI on my account about 2 weeks ago and I was quite looking forward to getting a bug tracking system up and running.
I did not receive the advertised email with details of the CGI , and the info on the PN website is sparse.
And I have not been able to log in using FTP since CGI was enabled.
Apparently failed FTP login  is a known problem affecting a number of people, yet there is no sign of the problem in the service status for CGI.
The lack of the CGI is a nuisance but the lack of communication is annoying.
Unfortunately the phone operator whom I called last Wednesday was only able to say that the fix was complete and awaiting sign off. (Thanks for the effort made finding that out  by the way.)
He had no idea when the service would work for me and 6 days  later there is still no sign. (admittedly I did not test today before I left the house)
So why can't PN keep us informed? I expect it is because they have so many small problems that affect small numbers of users that the service status pages would be clogged up.
6 REPLIES 6
Kev
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

Re: FTP access to CGI site.

Hi doktorsteve,
I am sorry that you have not been updated on the activation of your CGI space.
A problem was fixed to activate the CGI component on your account but this did not create your login details on the CGI server. We have raised an internal problem with our developers to resolve this for you.
I have created a ticket on your account and this will be checked regularly and you will be kept informed on the progress of the problem when we have more details to give.
doktorsteve
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎19-03-2013

Re: FTP access to CGI site.

Just thought I would update this for the benefit of anyone thinking of using the CGI service.
It is now 2 months since I activated CGI and Plusnet are still looking into the problem.
Maybe it is only a problem with my account. Anyone else tried to activate CGI in the last month or two?
Kev
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

Re: FTP access to CGI site.

HI,
I am sorry for the delay in getting this resolved. Our developers have highlighted the cause of the problem, currently a fix is being created so CGI space can be activated for customers wishing this service.
I will try to get a date for the fix being rolled out, if I do then the ticket on your account will be updated.
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 424
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: FTP access to CGI site.

I have the same problem !
I used to have CGI enabled on my webspace, but at some point it became deactivated (not by me !)
I tried re-enabling the CGI service, didn't receive the email and therefore can't use the CGI feature.
I raised a ticket on 24th February 2013 and am still waiting for the fix.
[quote=Kev]I will try to get a date for the fix being rolled out, if I do then the ticket on your account will be updated.
@Kev - can you add that information to my ticket #66286973,  Thanks.
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
doktorsteve
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎19-03-2013

Re: FTP access to CGI site.

I finally got an honest reply:
"Dear Dr Davies,
I have spoken to our code support team about this problem and they advised that due to its low priority and the number of higher-priority problems in their work stack, they do not expect this issue to be worked on in the next few weeks at least. As such, I will hold this ticket for another month to check for an update then. This is because, as advised by my colleague Steve, CGI and webhosting in general is not a dedicated service we offer and subscription fees do not cover it, it is just a free additional service and has since been retired as a service we offer to new customers, and as such it cannot be assigned priority work when there are more pressing issues unfortunately.
Our focus as a business is on providing a first-class broadband and phone service, and so I would recommend that if CGI webspace is business-critical, that you consider a specialist hosting company, such as our sister company Pay As You Host - www.PAYH.co.uk
Please do not hesitate to get back in touch online at http://contactus.plus.net or by phone on 0114 296 5182 if we can be of further assistance.
The next action on your Help Assistant Question is due on Monday 17th June at 9:00am. This Question will remain open with the CSC - G until this time."

If I had received received this message 2 months ago - maybe just  " we no longer supply this service" - then I would have found an alternative hosting service. Luckily I was able to host the bug tracker (temporarily!) on another system.
I hope this helps others to understand the situation better.
Regards
Steve
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,030
Thanks: 3,775
Fixes: 239
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: FTP access to CGI site.

@doktorsteve @purleigh, if you want to try logging into your CGI space you should find that the problem is now fixed Smiley

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵