cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

opted to use my old Talk Talk router

FIXED
ricci1003
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-11-2016

opted to use my old Talk Talk router

I'm a new customer. who opted to use my old Talk Talk router. How do I connect to the WiFi using this old router?

9 REPLIES
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

Fix

I'm not certain on the router that TalkTalk use these days, but these details will be likely to be needed at some point.

Let me know if you want us to dispatch a router at any point and we'll arrange that for you as if it was part of the signup.

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
pvmb
Rising Star
Posts: 263
Thanks: 17
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-02-2014

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

Should it not just work with the original TalkTalk SSID and password Key?

What router is it?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

@pvmb Whilst they may be able to connect to the router via wireless unless they can update the connection details in the router they won't be able to get online.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
pvmb
Rising Star
Posts: 263
Thanks: 17
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-02-2014

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

...Obviously. But you can use a TalkTalk router, I have done so myself recently using my old DSL-2680 router.

I found in that case, on a then noisy line, that it performed less well than my PN TG582n. It dropped about 2000kbps on download. Then again, I may not have had the exact PN settings and I do remember in the past, when the line was OK I originally got ~17Mbps using it with TalkTalk. But then, I used to get ~17Mbps when I started with Plusnet...

Must give it a whirl again, now that the line faults have been cleared.

Pk9
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-11-2016

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

You can update the router settings if you have it connected by cable, this way if WiFi drops you're not stuck.

 

Another point is you may be able to disable TR-069 within talktalks  settings as PluNet's own router has the port 7547 is wide open to the external internet..

 

Look for iot scanner bullguard.

Tags (3)
Pk9
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-11-2016

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

You should be able to disable remote management too this closing a port.

 

The connection settings for wireless are on the back of the router.

ricci1003
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-11-2016

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

Thanks for your help. I decided to order the free Plusnet one. A friend told me it would be wasting time because Talk Talk routers are locked to Talk Talk. The new one arrived and got set up on Thurs, but there won't be Internet before Tues. There's been a problem transfering the old number.
Regards,

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat) Duplicate and surplus posts removed.

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

Apologies for the delay in the order. It looks like the phone side of your order has finally completed, so the broadband should follow shortly.

Matty

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
Pk9
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-11-2016

Re: opted to use my old Talk Talk router

Not locked if you can change the password and user name on the router to Plusnet's.    Mine worked.