cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

lost speed

Griff7520
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: 25-09-2010

lost speed

HI
I had to disconnect from the master socket several times while new windows were fitted. I have had good speeds on my 2 meg for months but now I am down to about half a meg.
here are my router readings
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 2,176

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 17.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 62.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 13.0 / 6.5
My speed was this this morning

Today 08:42 615 kbps (76.9kB/s) 271 kbps (33.9kB/s)
download is usually 220kB/s

My sn margin is very low but my bandwidth is still very good...its been that or there abouts for ages...could this be caused because the router thought I was having connection issues and has slowed down my speed for a while,  while it finds a stable connection again.
or could it be a case that my house wiring has been damaged when the workmen fitted the windows., the master socket was right next to the windows and had to be unscrewed off the wall hence the lost connection
thx for any help
16 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: lost speed

Hi Griff,
Your BT profile had already come back up as of this morning so I've set your PN profile back to 1900 to match, hope that gets things back to how they should be Smiley
Griff7520
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: 25-09-2010

Re: lost speed

Hi
my latest speed check
Today 18:26 565 kbps (70.6kB/s) 378 kbps (47.3kB/s)
Worse than this morning..........will give it a week and see what it does
thx
Griff7520
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: 25-09-2010

Re: lost speed

Today 19:42 1474 kbps (184kB/s) 375 kbps (46.9kB/s) Share
Yesterday 21:19 1468 kbps (184kB/s) 380 kbps (47.5kB/s) 
Yesterday 19:42 1617 kbps (202kB/s) 370 kbps (46.3kB/s)
Yesterday 18:26 565 kbps (70.6kB/s) 378 kbps (47.3kB/s)
Yesterday 08:42 615 kbps (76.9kB/s) 271 kbps (33.9kB/s)
definitely on the mend...any reason why you changed the profile to 1900 from 2178 as it was in above posts...I am still slower than I have been for last 3 or 4 months.
thx
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,062
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: lost speed

The profile speed is 88.2% of the sync speed shown in the ADSL stats. 88.2% of 2176 = 1919.232 which is then rounded down by Plusnet.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,017
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 48
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: lost speed

@Griff7520
I'm sorry to see that's dropped further since Matt changed the profile.
Quote
I had to disconnect from the master socket several times while new windows were fitted

Were any permanent changes made to the socket or wiring whilst that work was being done?
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Griff7520
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: 25-09-2010

Re: lost speed

no changes made to the wiring...speed is getting better....usually takes a couple of weeks to get up to the 2 meg I was getting before.
speed over past few days
Today 07:49        1481 kbps (185kB/s) 372 kbps (46.5kB/s) Share
Yesterday 09:20  1426 kbps (178kB/s) 376 kbps (47kB/s)
Sunday 19:25      1521 kbps (190kB/s) 377 kbps (47.1kB/s)
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,062
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: lost speed

Your maximum download speed isn't going to change unless your ADSL sync speed changes, unless you were hoping for your Plusnet line speed to end up incorrectly set too high.
Griff7520
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: 25-09-2010

Re: lost speed

if you look in the first post you can see my router stats for bandwidth saying 2176....that went to that speed on its own ...I was told that the line had found its stable speed.....so I am expecting it to do the same....or are you saying that it wont do that?...if so then maybe it should be set at that by plusnet seeing as it has run at that without any issues for months.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,017
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 48
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: lost speed

Hi all,
Quote
..if so then maybe it should be set at that by plusnet seeing as it has run at that without any issues for months.

There'd be no point, we need to make sure the line profile is appropriate to the line speed, otherwise that will cause other issues which you don't want to have Smiley
As the synch speed is lower than you've previously experienced and given that the connection seems fairly stable at present it might be worth doing a bit of fault finding now.
For now can you get your router connected to the <a href="http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/master-socket-guide.shtml">test socket</a> or if you don't have one of those connect to the master socket and unplug any other phones or other devices connected to the line and drop me a reply as I'd like to run some line tests with things set up in that way:
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Griff7520
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: 25-09-2010

Re: lost speed

hi.
sorry been away a few days.....Yesterday I rewired the master socket and replaced all filters. So my speed has dropped again because of the lost connections while doing it. Can someone reset my speed up to the 1900 again please,  as at the moment it has dropped to 1344. Don't want to connect to the master socket just yet as it is down stairs and my computer is up stairs. I think I will get my speed back over a couple of weeks if I don't lose connection again for a while.
thx
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,017
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 48
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: lost speed

Hi there,
It looks like there's been a few more disconnections since as per the graph.
Is this anything you were doing? There's no point in us resetting the line whilst there are disconnections taking place.
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13754347662284.png"/>
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Griff7520
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: 25-09-2010

Re: lost speed

yea...sorry...you can do it now....I have been messing with the extension wiring this morning and last night......I have also connected my router directly to the master socket and am connected to the internet by wireless connection....not touching anything else now....thanks
Griff7520
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: 25-09-2010

Re: lost speed

after connecting to the master socket I now have these readings on my router
Uptime: 0 days, 0:28:30

DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 2,688

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 17.5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 61.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 14.0 / 7.0
...my bandwidth now says 2688
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: lost speed

That's looking a lot healthier, though I'm afraid your profile on BTs side still hasn't gone above 1900 (which is where it is at present). Hopefully it'll pick up soon for you.