cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WiFi Issues with BT Router

mapidd
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-04-2020

WiFi Issues with BT Router

Hi, I've been using BT Hub for a while. I have a recent issue in that WiFi drops out and I lose Internet access. Router glows orange. Phoning PlusNet their automated system tells me my line ok. Obviously power reset cures but issue returns. Can be in hours, a day or even 2. It's getting a bit of a problem working from home. Anyone had anything similar or any ideas? Thanks in anticipation.
10 REPLIES 10
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,746
Thanks: 5,763
Fixes: 266
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

@mapidd - Thanks.

For Community members to be able to help, information from these two sites, as screenshots, posted as pictures within the topic, not as attachments:-

BT Broadband(obscuring your phone number) and BTW Performance Tester - Over a wired (Ethernet) connection if at all possible, please report the 'ADDITIONAL DIAGNOSTICS', and sight of the broadband connection status from your Hub (with the 'Username' obscured) would be a good starting point.

For the Hub One -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Troubleshooting > Helpdesk

For the Hub Two -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Advanced Settings > Technical Log > Information

It may also be a good idea to report the results of a Quiet Line Test - dial 17070 option 2 from a (preferably corded) phone. After the confirmation of your phone number, there should be total silence apart from the regular 'Quiet Line Test' announcement. Any other noise - report a PHONE fault first.

I am not sure of the layout/data available from the BT HUB , but the information we need off there is:Downstream/upstream speeds (current and achievable), DSL uptime and noise margin figures (at a minimum)

If you are unsure about any of the above, please just ask - I am happy to help.

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,952
Thanks: 5,330
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

If you have contacted Plusnet whilst you have an orange light and they say that you are connected, and a power cycle reconnects you, then my assumption is that the Smarthub is going faulty. They are getting a bit long in the tooth now..

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,746
Thanks: 5,763
Fixes: 266
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

@Baldrick1 Good point re the HH6, which I hadn't considered. Still be good, IMO, if the OP could provide the information requested, just in case there was anything going off elsewhere.

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,952
Thanks: 5,330
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

@jab1 

Not disagreeing at all, you will also note the provisos in my response.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

mapidd
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-04-2020

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

Thanks for the replies.
Came in tonight and found issue had returned. I had done a factory reset on Friday and reinstated broadband username and disjoin of 5GHz & 2.4GHz WiFi with own custom names.
As my wife is also disabled we've moved to smart home ish for lights, radio and the like
So that's becoming a pain when wifi goes down at 3am.
Love to attach screenshots made on phone, except can't see options to do this on this browser from this android phone. Although I am told of file attachment limits. Which is nice.
Downstream speed: 59.99 vdsl 2.24 adsl
Upstream speed: 20 vdsl 0.74 adsl
Noise margin from bt hub: 6.4dB / 6.5dB

Hope this helps,
Thanks in anticipation.
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,952
Thanks: 5,330
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

@mapidd 

If the hub is losing the Plusnet credentials settings regularly then that makes me more suspicious that this is the hub failing.
Do you have another hub that you can try? Depending on when you renewed your contract you might get Plusnet to supply a Hub 2 for the P&P charge. Why not ring the Customer Options Team on 0800 013 2632 tomorrow and ask?

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,847
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

@mapidd 

"Love to attach screenshots made on phone, except can't see options to do this on this browser from this android phone"

You need to set the browser you are using to "Desktop site"

First you need to be viewing the website, then touch the three dots on the browser screen,  "Desktop site" should be somewhere on the list

HTH

James30
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 442
Thanks: 149
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎19-04-2023

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

@mapidd - Thanks for taking my call today. I'll ring you again tomorrow to give you time to connect the newer Plusnet router and just an FYI, you can see the ticket I left here @  https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=view_question&id=236214471 Cheers

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
James - Plusnet Sheffield
Plusnet Help Team
James30
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 442
Thanks: 149
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎19-04-2023

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

Hiya, I gave you a ring to see if you managed to remove all the extra networking tech from the equation and test it out yet?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
James - Plusnet Sheffield
Plusnet Help Team
James30
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 442
Thanks: 149
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎19-04-2023

Re: WiFi Issues with BT Router

Cheers for taking my call and confirming that it's working now with the new router. Let me know if you have any more troubles. TA

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
James - Plusnet Sheffield
Plusnet Help Team