cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

fosbie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 26-09-2012

Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

I've read the details in the page below to try and change my dns server setting using the telnet interface but although I can add new ones, it won't allow me to remove old ones, can anyone help?
http://community.plus.net/library/dns/how-to-change-the-default-dns-servers-in-a-thomson-speedtouch-...
This is the result of my efforts from the telnet window, what am I doing wrong?
{admin}=>dns server route list
DNS Server Entries:
  DNS Server    Source                Label              Metric Intf        State  Domain
D 212.159.6.9                                            10    Internet      UP      *
D 212.159.6.10                                          10    Internet      UP      *
{admin}=>dns server route delete dns=212.159.6.10
Failed to delete route.
{admin}=>dns server route delete dns=212.159.6.9
Failed to delete route.
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

According to the manual http://wiki.aa.org.uk/images/3/33/TG582n_CLI_Guide_v1.0_public.pdf ; it should work
A thought - it may not be possible to delete the automatic servers and in this case you would need to add the new server with a lower lower metric and just leave the old ones unused
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Is it because they have been set up by DHCP? So they are not permanent DNS servers but the ones that are being used.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Try going through the menu system rather than the cli.
from the telnet prompt enter menu
then navigate to dns route etc
I just did it on my HH2 which has a Thompson f/w.
You might need to add the intf option for it.
fosbie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 26-09-2012

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Thanks for the suggestion, didn't know about the Menu.
I'm almost there, but can't figure out how to select OK on the screen below, my cursor is in the text entry fields and I can't move it down to OK.  If I press the cursor arrows it just loops through dns, domain and intf, and if I press enter it just edits whichever field I'm on.
┌─────────────────────────┤ dns server route delete ├─────────────────────────┐
│dns := 212.159.6.9
│[domain] := *
│[intf] := Internet

│The interface associated with the DNS entry or DNS Template.
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│                <Ok>                                <Cancel>               
└─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘
fosbie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 26-09-2012

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Quote from: Oldjim
According to the manual http://wiki.aa.org.uk/images/3/33/TG582n_CLI_Guide_v1.0_public.pdf ; it should work
A thought - it may not be possible to delete the automatic servers and in this case you would need to add the new server with a lower lower metric and just leave the old ones unused

I did try that with a metric of 1 and 2 and leaving the others at 10 and 10, but didn't seem to have any effect.  Might need to try it again with a flush first though.  Will let you know.
fosbie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 26-09-2012

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Quote from: fosbie
Thanks for the suggestion, didn't know about the Menu.
I'm almost there, but can't figure out how to select OK on the screen below, my cursor is in the text entry fields and I can't move it down to OK.  If I press the cursor arrows it just loops through dns, domain and intf, and if I press enter it just edits whichever field I'm on.
┌─────────────────────────┤ dns server route delete ├─────────────────────────┐
│dns := 212.159.6.9
│[domain] := *
│[intf] := Internet

│The interface associated with the DNS entry or DNS Template.
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│                 <Ok>                                <Cancel>               
└─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘

OK, I worked it out.  It's the tab button.
fosbie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 26-09-2012

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Thanks for all your suggestions.  I've worked it out now.  I just needed to do a flush which I did via the menu.  That cleared out the old dns servers so that I could add in the new ones.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Sorry I forgot about the tab to switch to the ok/cancel. It has become second nature to me that I just plain forgot that others don't know about it.
So what did you change the dns servers to? Google or opendns?
fosbie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 26-09-2012

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

I went with OpenDNS for their parental controls, although I'm now annoyed that their parental controls don't offer the same level of control as they did when I was using my old Netgear router.
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

OpenDNS parental controls come with the additional options through their VIP service.
If I recall, that costs around £12.36 for the year, though you can get 50% off that if you first like them on Facebook with the following link to unlock the VIP code.
https://www.facebook.com/OpenDNS?v=app_140149346021719&rest=1
Then apply the code whilst logged into OpenDNS with the following link.
https://store.opendns.com/get/vip-home
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,852
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Quote from: fosbie
I went with OpenDNS for their parental controls

I looked at this once but I couldn't see that there was anything to prevent a smart kid from overriding the router DNS settings on their own device.
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Not by default there isn't.
You could however set the firewall in the router to a custom setting, and within that setup a rule to block UDP port 53 on the WAN interface to anything other than the OpenDNS servers.
fosbie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 26-09-2012

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

The features I was after are apparently only available with a netgear router as they have to install some code on the router itself. 
When it was working I was able to change content filtering profiles on a timed schedule and enable bypass accounts on specific windows users.
I'm not too bothered about my kids entering their own dns settings, they are too young to know about that sort of thing.  More worried about them clicking on something by accident.
mrfawlty
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 03-10-2012

Re: Unable to change DNS Server setting on Technicolor TG582n Router

Quote from: P
Not by default there isn't.
You could however set the firewall in the router to a custom setting, and within that setup a rule to block UDP port 53 on the WAN interface to anything other than the OpenDNS servers.

Couldn't see where you mean on the firewall page  - could you enlighten me please?