cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed capped to 39.99

FIXED
sweeep1963
Grafter
Posts: 61
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-08-2019

Speed capped to 39.99

I've noticed that since our contract renewal, our speed is now capped to 39.99 mbps. We could usually achieve 5 or so more than this. Is there anything that can be done?

14 REPLIES 14
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

@sweeep1963 Are you on Unlimited Fibre, or Unlimited Fibre Extra?

John
sweeep1963
Grafter
Posts: 61
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-08-2019

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

We are on Fibre Extra

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

OK. Can you post the result of https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL - hiding your phone number, please?

John
sweeep1963
Grafter
Posts: 61
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-08-2019

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

Sure, here it is: b798f6ea78734793f94b92723824fb61.png

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

You should be doing better than that. Sorry for asking for more detail, but can you give us the detail from

the broadband connection status from your Hub (with the 'Username' obscured)

For the Hub One -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Troubleshooting > Helpdesk

For the Hub Two -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Advanced Settings > Technical Log > Information

John
sweeep1963
Grafter
Posts: 61
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-08-2019

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

No worries. Unfortunately I'm not using the Plusnet Hub at the moment and am unable to view modem stats as the setup I had allowing me to do that was causing issues. The 39.99 sync reported on dsl checker seems in keeping with the real world speed tests I'm getting though.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

What setup do you have - there must be some detail somewhere. Without more information.there is little I can suggest, but it appears you have been capped for some reason.

John
sweeep1963
Grafter
Posts: 61
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-08-2019

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

I just have a modem & router combination but at the moment no cable plugged into the modem to give stat reporting. I'm absolutely sure we have been capped ever since the contract renewal so ideally need a member of staff to help out.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

OK - which modem, which router? Staff response over the W/E is extremely slow - and not much faster during the week, but if you don't want Community help, just say so.

John
willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,543
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

It seems to be capped at 40 so if you leave it with me I will get this sorted @sweeep1963 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,543
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

Fix

Ive reset it so give it 24 hours and then do a reboot and see how it goes from there

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
sweeep1963
Grafter
Posts: 61
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-08-2019

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

Brilliant thank you, the speed has already gone up

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,543
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

Awesome glad to hear it. Do you need anything else at the min?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
sweeep1963
Grafter
Posts: 61
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-08-2019

Re: Speed capped to 39.99

No that's all. Thanks again for sorting that!