cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smart Hub 2

FIXED
vdubgirlmk4
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2023

Smart Hub 2

Help!

My router will not connect to my MacBook Air Wi-Fi at all. Any suggestions? Driving me crazy!
27 REPLIES 27
willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 554
Fixes: 97
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Smart Hub 2

Hey there @vdubgirlmk4 and welcome to the forum!

 

That's frustrating, which router are you using?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
vdubgirlmk4
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2023

Re: Smart Hub 2

It’s the Smart Hub 2.
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,009
Thanks: 5,446
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Smart Hub 2

Has it connected previously? What, if any, error message do you see?

John
vdubgirlmk4
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2023

Re: Smart Hub 2

It’s a brand new router so it’s never connected to my laptop. Previous routers have and I can connect to my neighbours fine.
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,009
Thanks: 5,446
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Smart Hub 2

OK, so what happens when you enter the wireless password, after selecting your connection in the list of available networks?

John
Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 575
Thanks: 197
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: Smart Hub 2

@vdubgirlmk4 

Also, how are you posting to this forum?

ie computer connected to the Hub2 by cable; phone or tablet connected by WiFi to the Hub2, or by mobile phone data etc etc?

 

 

vdubgirlmk4
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2023

Re: Smart Hub 2

I’m connect to the Wi-Fi on my phone, iPads, sky, fire sticks. It’s just the laptop.

When I try to connect on the laptop it buffers and then says it’s failed to connect run diagnostics.
vdubgirlmk4
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2023

Re: Smart Hub 2

It tries to connect (buffers) then says connection failed run diagnostics or try again.
Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 575
Thanks: 197
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: Smart Hub 2

@vdubgirlmk4 

Have you tried rebooting the MacBook?

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,009
Thanks: 5,446
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Smart Hub 2

Or running diagnostics, as suggested?

John
vdubgirlmk4
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2023

Re: Smart Hub 2

Yes and the router.
vdubgirlmk4
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2023

Re: Smart Hub 2

Yes I’ve done that but it wasn’t helpful.

The settings on the smart hub 2 are quite limited too.
Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 575
Thanks: 197
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: Smart Hub 2

@vdubgirlmk4 

Have you tried deleting the saved connection, (to your Hub2), on the MacBook, and re-establishing it?

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,009
Thanks: 5,446
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Smart Hub 2

To be honest, if your other devices connect OK, it is something on the MacBook which is causing the issue - nothing tom do with the Hub.

John