cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pro addon experiences?

krs360
Grafter
Posts: 87
Registered: 27-04-2013

Pro addon experiences?

Interested to know people's experience with the pro addon?
Any noticeable difference to latency, etc?
I've switched from Interleave to fast with no improvement to latency so looking at other options..
9 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,101
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Pro addon experiences?

> I've switched from Interleave to fast with no improvement to latency so looking at other options..
That sounds wrong.  If you were definitely interleaved before, you should have seen a latency improvement swapping to fast path?
Pro doesn't impact your general latencies btw.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
krs360
Grafter
Posts: 87
Registered: 27-04-2013

Re: Pro addon experiences?

Is it possible you could look into it please, I placed an order to go from Interleaved to Fast, I'm fairly sure when I was with BT it was always interleave. The latency hasn't changed since starting service with plus net though as far as I can see from pings to various providers and in-game latency.
I guess that pro is for the most part QOS?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,101
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Pro addon experiences?

It may take a couple of days for the interleaving request if it wasn't placed by hand.  We'll check it tomorrow for you.
Pro affects the QoS of the traffic.  If you are on the Unlimited package, you really don't need it. (Unless you have a particular specific use case)
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
krs360
Grafter
Posts: 87
Registered: 27-04-2013

Re: Pro addon experiences?

Morning,
Was wondering if you had the time to take a quick look?
Regards,
Ben.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Pro addon experiences?

Your line is definitely on fastpath according to the line check I've just run.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
krs360
Grafter
Posts: 87
Registered: 27-04-2013

Re: Pro addon experiences?

Thanks for the checking & the reply.
englishrick
Grafter
Posts: 463
Registered: 14-02-2013

Re: Pro addon experiences?

Quote from: Chris
Your line is definitely on fastpath according to the line check I've just run.

Hi Chris can you see if my interleave has been removed now as well.. Had a stable connection for almost 2 months on same gateway without disconnections, apart from the other day when i had to turn everything electrical off as power comapny were replacing poles and cable...
thanks and sorry for hijacking the post
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Pro addon experiences?

Hi englishrick,
Interleaving is on your downstream, at the lowest level possible though. Your upstream currently has interleaving off.
englishrick
Grafter
Posts: 463
Registered: 14-02-2013

Re: Pro addon experiences?

Thanks Chris, thought that it would of been turned off by now, as I said connection was stable on same gateway for over 2 months until the other day.. oh well no worries