cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PPP connection failed

FIXED
blackbolt
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2017

PPP connection failed

Been down since about 3pm today. Checked service - looking good. Just can't connect to isp.
11 REPLIES 11
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,810
Thanks: 5,792
Fixes: 268
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: PPP connection failed

@blackbolt What does your error log say about this?

John
blackbolt
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2017

Re: PPP connection failed

Not giving anything useful, just says error with log content: ppp0. And spamming ppp0 sent [LCP ConfReq id=0xa <mru 1480> <magic 0x80fd3a95>
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,916
Thanks: 5,021
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: PPP connection failed

@blackbolt - is the service definitely in sync? It doesn't look to be when testing the line. What router are you using and what are its status lights doing?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

blackbolt
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2017

Re: PPP connection failed

Tplink archer vr600, and I have a 2nd tplink modem which I also tried. DSL light on modem is solid. Used diagnostic tool and it said xdsl sync passed.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,916
Thanks: 5,021
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: PPP connection failed

I can't see any connection attempts hitting our RADIUS servers and neither am I aware of any reported outages in your area, so might be time to report a fault.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

blackbolt
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2017

Re: PPP connection failed

They ran a test and a problem with their network. Openreach engi gonna investigate. Thanks.
blackbolt
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2017

Re: PPP connection failed

Ok it's been 2 days - still no fix. Had someone from PN call and said they would call back about sending an OR engi to visit. No call back. I did a broadband check and I'm pretty sure this doesn't look right. Where's the ADSL?Where's the ADSL?

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,612
Thanks: 1,091
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: PPP connection failed

@blackbolt  Do you have a ticket on your account, possibley waiting for you to say when you are free for an engineer visit?

What do you think is wrong with the BTW DSL checker pic you posted?

blackbolt
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2017

Re: PPP connection failed

Guy said he would call back in 5mins to arrange OR visit. Don't know anything about a ticket. Shouldn't the above screenshot show ADSL info. I know I seen ADSL info there when I did it in the past.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,656
Thanks: 6,668
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: PPP connection failed

Now it’s an FTTP priority exchange you will no longer see ADSL, and would not be able to order anything except an FTTP product.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
blackbolt
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-01-2017

Re: PPP connection failed

Fix
OR engi worked on service just now. All working again.