cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New connection - Slow speed

TheFlames1980
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 05-10-2014

New connection - Slow speed

Hi
I have become a member about a week ago, and the connection speed appears to be slower then advised
the BT adsl adviser information is as follows
BT BROADBAND AVAILABILITY CHECKER
Telephone Number **************** on Exchange HOYLAND is served by Cabinet 18
Featured Products                    Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)  Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)  Downstream Range(Mbps)
                                              High Low                               High Low
FTTC Range A (Clean)       79.5 60                                        20 19.6                       --
FTTC Range B (Impacted) 70.9 43.8                                 20 13.9                       --
WBC ADSL 2+                        Up to 8                                                  --                                    6.5 to 14
WBC ADSL 2+ Annex M        Up to 8                                               Up to 1                            6.5 to 14
ADSL Max                                Up to 6                                                   --                                    5 to 8
But when viewing the connection speeds I'm getting I'm only getting 2mb download and .6mb upload
the router connection stats is
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 808 / 2,276
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 807 / 2,240
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.5 / 31.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 9.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
I know that I should really wait another week before asking for anything to be changed as the connection has not had time to really be stable but I'm just checking if there is anything I should be doing.
forgot to mention that I was on a digital region connection before moving to plusnet, and before that on a Be connection so my line has seen some connection changes over the time. but this is the slowest it's connected at for any ISP Sad
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Something is a bit adrift
Do you have a master socket with a removable lower section
If so can you plug the router in there via a filter and report the stats
If you aren't sure what I am talking about have a look here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
TheFlames1980
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

now running directly through the master socket , and I left the router off for 10 mins while removing the master socket
This is now the data from the Thomson Gateway TG585 v8 that I'm using
Uptime: 0 days, 0:42:16
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 816 / 2,332
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 811 / 2,272
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]:
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.5 / 31.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 9.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 7
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 6
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Is that the master socket or the connection behind it
If the connection behind it are all the other phone sockets in the property dead
Assuming that is correct you have probably been put on a banded profile but I have no idea why http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/broadband_terminology.shtml
This will need picking up by staff tomorrow
TheFlames1980
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

that is using the socket behind the faceplate , there is no other sockets, and when I reconnected the cables I left the phone disconnected to rule that out as a cause
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Hi TheFlames1980,
With this sort of problem, it tends to be caused by the cabling. You've ruled out internal wires/extensions by trying into the test socket. I am therefore doing a line re-set for you which can sort out this sort of problem out.
I hope to have confirmation of whether or not this has worked in about an hour.
Tony
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Hi,
Unfortunately, neither of the changes I've made (SNR reset and port reset) resolved this for me. Therefore, I'm going to raise it to BTwholesale and ask them to take a look. I've created a ticket (92660575) on your account so that I can monitor it for you.
Tony
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
TheFlames1980
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Thanks for looking into it for me
I bet the issue I'm having will come back to being LLU'ed and then digital region'ed in some way :S 
this is my router stats now
Link Information

DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 820 / 2,448
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 819 / 2,336
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.5 / 31.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.5 / 9.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,982
Thanks: 141
Fixes: 46
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Let us know how things are after you've moved over as I can see Tony is poised to get your line checked (and a fault raised) if there's any issues after the 10th Smiley
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
TheFlames1980
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Thanks for all the works been done so far , here is the router stats now
Uptime: 0 days, 7:50:25
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 768 / 5,160
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 755 / 5,186
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.5 / 31.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 3.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 65,538 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 131,172 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,578,137
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 10,083
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 13,370
JTaylor
Grafter
Posts: 93
Registered: 18-08-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Hey there
I've just had a look over this and I can see you're still experiencing issues.
Tony has taken ownership of this so as soon as he is able, he'll check over this again and make the necessary next step.
I appreciate your patience.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,065
Thanks: 2,419
Fixes: 21
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: New connection - Slow speed

What do the copper tests report the attenuation to be please?
If we believe the router's reported figures, 31dB attenuation should deliver 14Mbps @6dB SNRM, presently it is reporting 5Mbps @3dB SNRM.  Should we suspect a problem with the router or is there indication of issues elsewhere?
Kevin
TheFlames1980
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Thank you for all the work that was done on this. it's now fixed
the Openreach engineer advised that the issue had been caused by interference from another line. After he fixed this the line speed improved greatly.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,065
Thanks: 2,419
Fixes: 21
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: New connection - Slow speed

Glad to learn that you have a resolution.  What is your synch speed now?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: New connection - Slow speed

I'm pleased it's all sorted,
Please let us know if we can assist further.
Tony
 Tony
 Plusnet Support