Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Losing connection random

FIXED
dp3435

Losing connection random

Hello,

I'd appreciate some help with my plus one router.

I have a wired connection to a PC and several wireless devices.

At random times the blue light goes off and I get the orange one, sometimes with the 'b' under it.  This can be for a minute before it becomes blue again and other times for longer.  What's strange is that it can be on and off in quick succession and then fine again for days.

It seems to happen more during the day I think, so I have put up with it.  It did become a problem during lockdown.  

I can't seem to think of a reason / pattern for why it would do it - so I would suggest it's a router fault?

I'm not an expert with tech (7/10), but I am good at following instructions - so any advice would be great!  I've tried the generic FAQ ones.  I saw a similar post on here that had the same issue, which was resolved with a new router.

Cheers, Dave.

8 REPLIES 8
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 254

Re: Losing connection random

@dp3435 The symptoms you describe could be down to any number of reasons, but if you follow the below, Community members/Help Team staff will probably be able to resolve the problem.

For Community members to be able to help, information from these two sites, as screenshots:-

BT Broadband(obscuring your phone number) and BTW Performance Tester - Over a wired (ethernet) connection, please report the 'ADDITIONAL DIAGNOSTICS', and sight of the HELP DESK tab from your Hub would be a start.

It may also be a good idea to report the results of a Quiet Line Test - dial 17070 option 2 from a (preferably corded) phone. After the confirmation of your phone number, there should be total silence apart from the regular 'Quiet Line Test' announcement. Any other noise - report a PHONE fault first.

John
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 1,600

Hi Dave, I'm really sorry to see you're having connection issues.